I’ve Got That Boom Boom…Owww!!!

I heard a song on So You Think You Can Dance and I had to have it. It was just a fun song. It is “Boom Boom Pow” by the Black Eyed Peas. I downloaded it this morning and I played it while making lunch. Sarah ran into the kitchen and yelled “Dance Mommy!!” So we danced. She learned some new words… she can now say, “boom boom”. And I may have even taught her to head bang. Of course, it was a learning experience we had to count how many times we thrashed our heads around… no we didn’t count. I am not that good of a mother.

After the song was over and we had listened to it again and again, Sarah asked me to “Bring Sexy Back” and I laughed like hell. What 2–year-old asks to listen to that song? Anyone? Please let me explain…

I grew up in a family that loved music. My dad subscribed to Rolling Stone Magazine and he always knew who the up and comers were before the rest of the world did. Frequently he would call me into the living room where he had his “sound system” set up and have me listen to a new group. The man would make me tapes of songs he thought I would like, and not just for me, but for my friends too. Now they are called Playlists and everybody is doing it. Rock-n-Roll, Blues and Jazz – you name it – he breathed it. We had one of the first CD players available and Van Halen 5150 was his first purchase. This was quite a feat for our little family who did not get a microwave until the mid 1990’s. So you can see how music was vital; more so than preparing food speedy quick.

In my twenties, I was on top of things, knew the latest bands, and then I had a child. At first, being the good mother I strived to be, I had all of the required compilations; Baby Mozart, Toddler Tunes, Elmo’s Greatest Hits, etc. and then I got bored. I figured why shouldn’t my baby hear Rock and Roll, it’s not going to kill her right? So Emily and I would dance and dance all around the house to Shania Twain, The Doors, and Dave Matthews. We had so much fun.

Flash forward to today and here is Sarah’s first Playlist.

It is quite the mix. I am going to take a wild guess and say that I am probably the only person in the entire world who has Doris Day on the same CD as Flo Rida. “Rehab” may be a tad inappropriate, but I highly doubt Sarah will be asking what the lyrics mean anytime soon. Although it did teach her how to say, “NO.”

Yes, I enjoy exposing the girls to all different kinds of music. Thankfully, they don’t understand some of the more “risqué” lyrics. And if they do ask what Apple Bottom Jeans are, well, they have apples on them of course. Duh.

However, our varied taste in music does get us into some uncomfortable situations… like last year when Sarah got hives from amoxicillin. She was crying so hard in the doctor’s office and Tyler and I sang every imaginable kid song we knew and then I looked at him and I said, “I have to do it. I have to sing it. It will stop her from crying.” and then I broke out into “n-n-n-now that that don’t kill me, can only make me stronger” by Kanye West. Great song. Although when I downloaded it I had only heard a small part of it and I thought it was more of, well, an inspirational song. C’mon!! It is on a CD titled Graduation. What was I to know?

But she stopped crying.

Dad is not into the current stuff anymore, Rap and Hip Hop drove him away. Now he pushes Classical Music onto me and I push my songs onto him, each benefitting from the different perspectives.
Oh and by the way, I hurt my neck from the head banging.
Owww.

Leave a Reply

