I Almost Made it to New York

Let’s see… I am not a world traveler. I am not really a traveler at all. I like to go places, and I LOVE a good road trip, but the opportunity just doesn’t come along. I have been to France and a few states in the US, including Hawaii, but once I had children it just really doesn’t happen that much.


Tyler and I didn’t have a honeymoon because we spent all of our money on our wedding and remodeling our house. Instead we took a pre-wedding vacation to this tiny little unincorporated town. We had had it with the heat of the summer and the stress of wedding planning and one night at dinner I said, “I want to go to a cabin. My only requirement is indoor plumbing.” Now…that was a HUGE deal for me. Usually I like need to have room service and a list of amenities to include golf and a pool, preferably more than one of each to be exact. My thought is that if I do get away it had better be the best damn place ever, or why would I want to leave my lovely little world?

An hour later, we booked a cabin in Herbster, Wisconsin, right on Lake Superior. The man on the phone was perfectly delightful and when he said, “You need to head on down to Marge’s for supper, ya know”, we were hooked. We loaded up the car the next day and spent the 3 loveliest days imaginable away from it all. Our cell phones didn’t get reception, there was not any TV and our coffee pot was a percolator and it was heaven. We spent our days roaming the little towns on the lake and our nights making a bonfire and roasting marshmallows. To this day, when I can’t fall asleep at night, I think about the beauty and relaxation and the joy of that trip and I am out like a light.


This summer we needed to get away. The wear and tear of daily life and the need I had to just be alone with Tyler was intense. In the spring we decided that we would get away in July just the two of us to my favorite golf resort. Once the decision was made I just felt better. While vacuuming or doing mundane chores I would envision what it would be like – to be alone for 4 whole days. We had a really great time in my head. Unfortunately, something unforeseen happened 2 weeks before our trip that was out of our control and we had to cancel. Now I am a pretty laid back gal, but I was pissed for days. I may have even growled a couple of times, but I knew the decision had to be made and we could not go. It was OK, I got over it quickly. I am lucky that we have a nice life and that we really do have a lot of fun during the small moments alone together. Blah, blah, blah ok maybe I am still a tiny bit pissed.


All of this brings me to last night at dinner. We are almost done eating and Tyler all of a sudden sits up a bit straighter and claps his hands together and says, “I have been planning something for a long time and I need to tell you about it.”


In that short amount of time when he paused my head reeled with ideas of what was going to come out of his mouth. It must be a BIG something since we talk about everything under the sun. We’re moving, we’re getting a new dog, you’ve lost your job, “what.is.it?” I managed to squeak out.


“I want the two of us to fly to New York” (YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)


“For a day” (noooooo)


“And eat at Gordon Ramsay’s Restaurant” (yay?!)


“But you have to make a reservation exactly 2 months in advance from the day you plan to arrive.”


Oh! The more Tyler spoke, the more my excitement was being deflated. I have always wanted to go to New York. There is just something so appealing about it. I know I would love it. The walking, the cabs, the museums, the shopping, PEOPLE WATCHING, Broadway. OH OH OH how I have always wanted to go to New York!!!!


However, his plan is wrong on just so many levels.


1. His sister’s baby is due in February and the last time she delivered at 28 weeks. We just can’t leave. And there is no way they are going to watch the girls. And there is no way I’d do that to them or be able to relax.


2. The chance of somebody being sick in January is HIGH. Last year someone was majorly ill from January 5 to the end of February. I would never leave a sick kid.


3. And I am not really a foodie. I love Gordon Ramsay and I really like to say, “This is RAW” or another favorite, ”Tonight’s meal is made with fresh, local, organic ingredients”, but c’mon(!) if I only have 1 day in New York I will take a hot dog from a stand and walk around all day, thank you.


So I ask about the hot dog plan and I get vetoed. Apparently the whole point is to eat in one of his restaurants and see what all the hype is about.


Now I am stuck. I want to be with Tyler and New York, so the minute I am alone this morning I fly to the computer to check out the menu. Oh double crap. I swear there is not one thing on the menu that I would ever consider ordering.


Do they have a kids menu?


People – listen – I am from Minnesoooota! I love a good hot dish, ya know. I don’t do fancy, funky food. I do like French food masked in a decadent sauce. Plus, I am a size zero. Yes, a zero. So eating is not really my thang. Don’t get me wrong. I eat. And I love to cook. But, the thought of spending $175 on a meal that I probably won’t like, or worse, a meal that will upset my stomach and I won’t be able to see New York, doesn’t excite me.


Usually, I am “Mommy, the Crusher of Dreams.” Today I have crushed my own dream. (sniff)


Sorry honey. I won’t go.


At least I almost made it to New York.

Leave a Reply

