Nobody Goes to the Humane Society Just for Fun!

One year ago, this weekend, we didn’t have anything planned for the day. Sarah had just woken up from her afternoon nap and we had a couple hours to kill before dinner. We wanted to get out of the house so Tyler suggested that we go to the Humane Society for fun. “Sarah loves dogs and cats. She will get a kick out of it,” he said.

My reply was, “You’ve got to be kidding me. Nobody goes to the Humane Society for fun.” But, he was excited and so was Sarah and I wasn’t about to stop her from having fun. Nobody found it amusing when I suggested that we put our dog and cat in different bedrooms and pretend to be at the Humane Society and look at them. So off we went.

While in the car I kept saying, “Ok what does this mean? We have told Emily 1000 times that we are not getting another dog until Emma is gone and that is a long time from now… so what does it mean?” He kept saying that it meant nothing and that I should just R-E-L-A-X already, but I know my husband and relaxing is something I just couldn’t do.

Our pet plan was that we would get a German Shepherd puppy when Emma, our 5 year old Golden Retriever, passed away. That was the plan. Every time Emily asked to get another dog, we reiterated our plan. It made sense. Sarah would be in school and I would have the time and energy to train a puppy. I like plans. Plans are good.

We got into the dog room and it was madness I tell you – madness! Sarah was running around squealing with glee, clapping her hands and Tyler had an extra spring in his step too. If it was socially acceptable, that man would have been squealing with glee too, I swear. At that point I knew that the plan was out the window.

The 3rd cage we came to was a 2 year old German Shepherd / Yellow Lab mix. When nobody was looking I surreptitiously gave the sit command and then the down command and that darn dog did both. And she kissed my hand. Plans are made to be broken right?

Tyler fell in love with her too, but she was already taken. In about 30 seconds we decided that we would be getting a new dog. .We had love to give and we needed a new dog. Our new plan was that we would look at getting a Rescue dog that was already trained. That way, I wouldn’t have to deal with an 18 month old baby as well as a puppy.

So for the next week we researched and met a few rescue dogs. Every once in a while we would see a puppy online and quick move on – they are so cute, after all, but we stuck to our plan. It was hard. Emily summed it up best when she got mad one morning, “I don’t want to see any more dogs that have problems! I want a dog to love ME and not want someone else.” We kind of all felt that way. So I emailed Tyler at work and said that it would be okay to get a puppy since I was the one holding us back.

One hour later this is what was in my inbox:

The minute I saw him, I knew that this was our dog. It was actually Tyler’s friends at work who found a local breeder. We picked him up that night. His name is Jack. He also has a few other more colorful names that I call him, but he still is a puppy you know.

Leave a Reply

