She’s Not On Our Side.


I am an only child. I always wanted a little sister or brother and would ask for one often. My mom would say, “Honey, we are happy with one. It suits our lifestyle.” My dad would say, “Okay! I want to adopt an 18 year old from France!” I get what he meant now and I get why my mom always hit him upside the head when he said that.


Emily couldn’t wait for Tyler and I to have a baby and she would always ask us when we would have a baby. So when we finally got pregnant, she was ecstatic to say the least. The 7 ½ year age difference is amazing and the only thing I have put Emily in charge of is…fun. Not changing diapers, feedings, etc… Just fun. She does help out an awful lot, but it is because she wants to. Consequently, the girls are always together and super close.


But because of the age difference I have found myself relying on Emily in other ways. It seems as if I am always saying to her, “Don’t say the word c-o-o-k-i-e” and then Emily says it and Sarah asks for a cookie. Or, I say I am tired and we are not s-w-i-n-g-i-n-g today. And then Emily says swinging out loud and then Sarah jumps up and down and wants to go outside and swing. You see where I am going with this?


It is ALL OF THE TIME!!


The other night it was time for Sarah to go to bed. Emily was tickling her and getting her all excited playing their little games. And I kept saying “Emily stop. Sarah has to go to bed!” To which Emily would keep on doing it and both girls were erupting with laughter and having the time of their lives. I looked at Tyler and said, “She isn’t on our side.”


I had never really realized that before. Emily isn’t a parent. It’s them against us. This is what sisters are supposed to do. It is like it is her job to lobby for her sister and I think that is kinda cool.


Even though it took me 2 years to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

