Excuse Me While I Cough Up a Furball


First I would like to say a very special Thank You to everyone who left such thoughtful comments on my post Is There a Reindeer Named Cancer?


Second, a very quick update: We were lucky to get an appointment at the University of Minnesota Veterinary Hospital quickly. The news is not good, but it could be worse. The website that I stumbled upon earlier, gave me hope, but I needed that hope, but, in actuality, the reality isn’t as good as I thought it would be.


1. Emma, our dog, needs amputation. She will have it next week. She will be home and walking around in 1 day!! Completely healed by 2 weeks!!


2. She has no visible lung tumors!


3. The bone cancer spreads fast and she has 4-6 months before it hits her lungs without chemo. Up to a year survival.


4. With chemo she could have 1-2 years left, perhaps more, but it is not typical.


That is really all I can say about it. We haven’t made any decisions on the chemo yet. It is really expensive and I don’t want to talk about it since we don’t have to make that decision yet. It is too hard. We are focusing on the fact that she will be running around, pain free soon and she can play and go to the dog park again.


What I do want to talk about is that apparently Tyler and I look like smart people. How cool is that? The doctor walked into the office and we all shook hands and he said, “So you’re in the medical profession, then?” My theory is that we must have sounded smart to the nurse. I have done a lot of reading up on osteosarcoma plus I can pronounce it… how about that? We had a good laugh over that one in between the crying.


Then he asked us a bunch of questions, one in fact made us snicker. “Has she been to any exotic locations recently?” To which I replied, “Ummm… she went into the front yard on Sunday.” Luckily he had a sense of humor and chuckled right along with us.


Meanwhile our Emma is just a tramp. Oh, she always has been, she loves people. She will do anything to get petted. The doctor stuck things in her most private place and she didn’t care. She loved it! As long as the other hand was petting her. Blood work, urine sample, chest x-ray – she just didn’t care. She loved everyone and happily went with whoever grabbed her leash. The downside is that she sheds 500% more when she is excited and right now I think I am coughing up a furball.  Yuck.


My other baby, Sarah, had a different exerience. Oh she was excited to go to the “Puppy Doctor” until we went into the exam room. Then she curled up behind the chair. She stayed behind that chair for the entire exam and wouldn’t come out. Not even for a cookie. She was convinced she was next to be examined no matter what we said. Every once in a while you would hear this little voice say, “Go Home Now.”


We are home now and very happy it is all over.

Leave a Reply

