We are NOT Keeping the Leg!!!


A couple of years ago we went out after Emily’s softball game and got ice cream. We were in the drive thru lane and I started laughing. Why? That is what Emily asked, too. “Well, there is a taxidermy shop that just opened up over there,” I answered.


“What’s that?” she asked.  And then I opened my mouth and I told her what it was. I am living to regret answering that one. Trust me.


Over the past couple of years she has pounded me with questions about stuffing our pets after they die.


“Why can’t we?”
“Well, how much is it?”
“So when I am 18, I can stuff my own pets?”
“Don’t you want to live with our pets forever?”


No! No! No! No! No!


Now, let’s flash forward to today. Today, our dog Emma goes in for her leg amputation. Remember how I have been debating on how to explain this to our 2-year-old? Well, this weekend I purchased a stuffed puppy and here is what happened:


After Sarah went to bed I got the stuffed puppy out of my closet and brought her into the living room to perform the operation, of sorts, while Emily, Tyler and I were watching So You Think You Can Dance.


I got out my sewing kit and scissors and took ONE cut and looked up at everyone and saw that all eyes were on me. Plus, our real dog, Emma, was watching too.


Weird and sad and creepy. With each cut I made (it is a big stuffed puppy) everyone watched. Again… Weird and sad and creepy. And then Emily said it. I didn’t even see it coming.


“What’s going to happen to Emma’s leg after they cut it off? Can we keep it?  We could get it stuffed.”


“No!!! We can’t keep it!! That is gross” I shrieked.


Tyler kind of chuckled.


“What’s so funny over there Mr. Chuckles?” I asked.


“I told the women at work that we were using the leg as a soup stock for Thanksgiving,” he said in a real low voice.


I married that man. I birthed that child. Heaven help me.

This is Sweetie. He is Sarah’s new Bestest Buddy

Leave a Reply

