Feel Good Friday: Going Above and Beyond


What is Feel Good Friday? In case you missed it, click here to find out.




Going Above and Beyond

It happened again. On Monday I hurt my neck. Only this time I hurt the other side and I hurt it in a big way.


It was the kind of pain that makes your eyes get all watery and you think you might hurl. Being the stubborn brave person I am, I chose not to go to the doctor. I hate to take pills anyway, so what’s the point? I will manage.


I managed to get into the shower. I hadn’t really thought ahead and planned on how exactly I was going to wash my hair, but I managed.


I put on some makeup and then reached for the blow dryer. It wasn’t gonna happen. I couldn’t do it. It was just too painful. So I plodded out to the dark living room where Tyler and Sarah were snuggled on the couch watching TV.


“Hey, do you think you could blow dry my hair?” I asked.


He looked scared, but agreed.


We went into the bathroom and I give him the comb and dryer and he got to work. He barely touched my head he was so afraid to hurt me further and after 4 minutes I politely said,


”It might help to actually turn the dryer so it gets my hair.” Because usually my hair is dry after 4 minutes.


“I promise I will let you know if I am in pain.” I said.


So he’s drying it and it is going well and then he gets this gleam in his eye… and he starts to blow dry and brush all of my hair back off of my forehead. Now this is not how I wear my hair. I wear it to the side and he knows this…


And he keeps doing it, blowing and styling… blowing and styling. Finally, I just had to stop him.


“There” he said. “You look good like this.” He left and went back to Sarah


Dork. He knew I couldn’t do anything about it.


I followed him back out to the living room.


“Hey, now I need to get dressed!” I said.


– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –


Tyler helped me out so much that day and, as usual, really made me laugh and smile which made everything better.  The next day I could move my neck again.


Thank you honey!  You really made me feel good!


– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Now what happened to you this week that made you feel good? Need some ideas?  Write about it and then come back here and link up with Mr. Linky!

Leave a Reply

