Thank You Tiger Woods

At the ripe old age of 8, I began playing golf and let me tell you, golf was so uncool. Especially for girls. Nonetheless, my family played golf and I, too, fell in love with the sport.



I spent my entire working career at a golf course. I had the best job in the world and I loved what I did more than anything. I loved the people, the sounds, the smells, it was bliss.


I will never forget the year that Tiger Woods entered the scene of golf. The prior year at our golf course, our Junior Program had 7 kids.


The year Tiger arrived we had 150 kids and had to turn more away.


What Tiger did for the game of golf was incredible. I enjoyed watching him grow up on the Tour and mature and succeed.


Then came the infamous Sex Scandal…


I have to say that I am happy I was sick at the time because I watched and read every piece of coverage about him. With each new detail that unraveled, my respect for him dwindled to nothing.


Yes, he is an excellent golfer, but I will never again see him the same way I used to.


The Big Debate:


Now, Tyler and I both love golf and loved to follow Tiger, so as each new detail came out, I would frequently say to him, “Aren’t you shocked?”


To which he would reply, “No”


“How can you NOT be shocked?” I would ask over and over again not comprehending his answer.


“Well,” he said, “If a person has that much money those things happen.”


He would say this so matter-of-factly that I was astounded.


I haven’t bought a lottery ticket since.  I’m not taking any chances…

Thanks Tiger.

Leave a Reply

