Funeral Planning on a Whole New Level

Tomorrow is Feel Good Friday!  What will YOU write about?
What is Feel Good Friday?  Click Here to find out!

Here is an oxymoron for you: A Fun Funeral.


We went to a funeral recently. After the funeral, we were talking to my parents, who also attended.


My parents, as usual, were full of the crazy:

Mom: Wow, we don’t know this many people.


Dad: Ya, the whole town came. We need to get some friends.


Mom: Our funeral will be pathetic.


Dad: We need to get some friends.


Mom: Laura, make sure to put in our funeral notice that there will be a FREE buffet.


Me: OMG.


Mom: Did you see all of the pictures they had of her? Laura – make sure when I die that you really put a lot of effort into the pictures of me.


Me: Do you want me to start now? So I make sure to do a good job?


Mom: That is a great idea!!!


Dad: I want some good music at my funeral.


Me: So, like, a soundtrack? Should I make you a soundtrack of your favorite songs?


Dad: Ohhhh yes. That would be so cool. Yeah… a soundtrack.


Me: Well, as long as we are getting totally crazy, how about we put up your art instead of pictures of you? We can hang them all along the funeral parlor.


Dad: Really? My own showing? Cool.


Me: Dad, you would be DEAD!! Maybe you should not be getting so excited over this.


Tyler: You know, we could put price tags on each canvas and then a slash over the price with a HIGHER price! His art will be worth more when he is dead.


Dad: OH that’s right! How much do you think I would make?


Me: Dad – YOU WOULD BE DEAD!


Mom: Don’t forget about me! I want good pictures.


Me: At this point, I might just kill you both now. This is all crazy talk!


Mom: But you’re going to start working on it NOW right? You will be pretty broken up to do a good job when we actually die.


Me: Sure mom. I’ll get on it now.


In theory, it is a good idea to get started on their “requests.”


In actuality, it is creepy and morbid.


If these were your parents, what would YOU do?

Leave a Reply

