Mean and Shy are 2 Different Things


My mom says there is some sort of “nice” vibe I give off.


Tyler just shakes his head and laughs.


Yesterday you learned that I am very shy. However, there is one thing I am most certainly not is “mean.”


My “nice vibe” and shyness are not a good mix because I am a stranger magnet.


****


Tyler and I took the girls and dogs to the dog park before Emma’s amputation. We were just heading out and stopped so the girls could swing.


An older man gets out of his car with his dog. He says hello and sits down next to me.


Yada, yada, yada…


20 minutes later Tyler is getting the girls into the car (laughing hysterically by the way) and the guy is getting a photo ALBUM out of his car to show me his kids.


****


Sarah and I are at the mall taking a juice break on a bench. A nice Korean lady remarks at Sarah and her cuteness. Every other word is spoken in Korean.


Yada, Yada, Yada


15 minutes later I think I was invited to a Baptism. There’s going to be chicken, or, their kid was named after a chicken. I can’t be sure.


****


I have mentioned that I visited my grandma a lot in the nursing home. If you have people in a nursing home – VISIT THEM please!


I was Jacqueline to one lady and Stephanie to another lady. Unfortunately my grandma’s room was the last one at the end of the hall and these 2 ladies always thought I was there to see them because nobody ever visited them.


Yada, Yada, Yada


I ended up buying one of the ladies a carton of smokes. Well the real Jacqueline never did! She lived in Oregon. It was the least I could do.


****


There was a man who would make a tee time at the golf course for him and his 3 friends. He would get dropped off in a cab. He was really scruffy and unkempt, but he loved to golf.


There were never 3 other people.


Yet, he talked to them as if they were there.


Yada, Yada, Yada


Over a few years I got to know his imaginary friends well. They were really nice and funny. I also was the only one he would deal with at the course.


Of course I was.


Mean and Shy are 2 different things.

Leave a Reply

