The Elephant in the Room

Before I sit down to write a post, it is usually already written in my head. I create drafts when I am getting ready in the morning or while doing my chores.


My brain was working overtime last Tuesday as I was busy with my day…


I walked from the kitchen into the dining room, around the boxes into the living room.


Then I needed to answer the phone…


I walked from the living room into the dining room, around the boxes and into the kitchen.


My mom wanted to talk to Emily.


Back out of the kitchen into the dining room, around the boxes and back into the living room.


I’m sorry. Did you see the phrase “around the boxes”?


Here is a picture:

These boxes are sitting in the middle of the room. They have been sitting there since last Saturday when Tyler put up new bookshelves to replace my old desk. The boxes have stuff in them that needs to go downstairs.

Now, Here’s The Deal:

This house may not be the most sparkly in the neighborhood, but darn it all if this place isn’t neat and tidy 99% of the time!

I figure, the neatness masks the filth that lies underneath.

“A place for everything and everything in its place.” is practically my mantra.

It took me 2 whole days to notice this big pile in the middle of a highly trafficked area.

What does that mean?

Now, Here is What I Did:

First, I laughed and laughed and laughed.

Then, I walked past the boxes.

I decided to keep them there as an experiment to see how long it would take for anyone to say anything.

Emily notices everything but she didn’t mutter a word.

Sarah is prone to saying, “This place is a mess! I have to clean up!” and then she gets to sing her clean-up song. She said NOTHING and didn’t even try to play with the boxes!

I sat in my chair for 3 more mornings and watched Tyler walk around the boxes to get cup after cup of coffee. It was as if they weren’t even there!

I am starting to have a lot of fun with this experiment, but I ask you…

Today I am supposed to clean the house. Should I take the box experiment as a sign that nobody notices anything around here and take the day off and have some fun?

Or

Should I clean the house, but keep the experiment going and vacuum around them?

What should I do???
Leave a Reply

