The Crayon Box


No means No.


I heard or read that if you give in to a tantrum once it take some kids up to 40 more tantrums for them to re-learn that No means No.


We happen to have one of those kids.


Now, I am diligent. Go ahead and make my day. I will not give in.


No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No. No.


Tyler, on the other hand, not so much.


Luckily, I can usually see when he is wavering and then I can step in. He gets to go to work Monday –Friday whereas I have to deal with the aftermath if he should give in. It is no fun.


This week I had to deal with the aftermath of one of those episodes.


Thanks man.


Tyler’s dad was in town and we were all at Target. Sarah was having a hissy fit over a box of crayons.


I said No. She cried and whined.


Maybe it was because Tyler’s dad was with us and Tyler just wanted her to STOP crying, but the minute I turned around, that man – my husband, GAVE Sarah the box of crayons.


I can surely tell you that if Tyler’s dad had not been with us, I would have taken my husband DOWN in the Crayola aisle right in front of everyone. I have no pride like that.


I would have raced at him and flung my little body at him attempting to knock him over. I have yet, to this day, actually taken him down, but like Sarah, I am persistent.


Plus, I wouldn’t want to hurt him, you know.


Instead I looked at him and said, “Dude, that was SO NOT COOL” and I gave him a look.


You know… that look.


So, for the past week, we have been having just a blast over here while Sarah re-learns what the word No means and how it relates to her.


I was telling Tyler last night about my utterly fun and fantastic week and he dared to say this to me:


Maybe you should take better control of your children


And then I TOOK him DOWN.

RIP
Tyler Nelson
January 3, 1970 – March 25, 2010

The new crayons came in handy when we colored beautiful pictures to lay on his grave.

Leave a Reply

