Feel Good Friday: The Sweetest Heart

{Welcome to Feel Good Friday!!  Choose a prompt and join in.}




Last Saturday was Girls Day Out for me and Emily. We were going to shop for summer clothes and have some lunch just the two of us.


We had an absolute blast, as usual, and it makes me smile and feel good every time I think about it this week.


We make it out alone about 5 times a year not including all of the time we have alone when Sarah is napping.


This is different. This is special. This is a day without time restraints.


8 years ago this week I got a divorce. Emily was 2 years old at the time.


Basically from about Birth – age 6 it was just Emily and me. We had all of the time in the world back then.


Frick and Frack.
Me and Mini Me.
Thing 1 and Thing 2
Wonder Woman and Dina Girl
Lorelei and Rory


Call it what you will, we were a formidable twosome.


Then when Emily was age 5, I met Tyler and we were eventually married.


When she was 7, we had Sarah.


She went from being the center of attention to having to share me.


What do you think happened?


Probably not what you would expect.


Never once has she been jealous.


Never once has she complained.


Our formidable twosome turned into a formidable foursome.


Now maybe it is because there is a 7 year age difference between the girls.


Maybe it is because I made having to share me sound so bad, anything else would seem good.


Or maybe, it is just because she has the sweetest heart imaginable.


On every outing I ask her the same thing:


“Promise me we can always hold hands when we shop? Even when you get older and too cool?”


She laughs and says, “Of course I will. I will always hold your hand.”


Even though, she probably won’t.


And after every outing, we pull into the garage I tell her how proud I am of her and how much I love her.


We have been through so many changes the two of us and I am in awe of her intellect, poise, grace, love, kindness, generosity and acceptance.


And then I cry from love and pride and I hug her.


Every time.


And then she rolls her eyes and hugs me back.


Every time.


I may never write a bestseller or become famous like The Pioneer Woman or Oprah, and that is just fine by me because when I look at my girls I see my 2 greatest accomplishments ever.


And that makes me feel good every single moment of every single day.

Leave a Reply

