A Commentary on Commenting

6 months ago I started this blog because I love to write and tell stories about my life. I was thrilled with a single comment. Slowly my subscriber and follower numbers grew.


On January 2, 2010, my followers hit 100 and I would shake with pure excitement over getting 20 comments. It was rare, but it happened.


I would spend my 2-3 hour window of blog time writing, tinkering with my design, reading blogs and replying to the comments that I received.


It was bliss, but I longed to be a “big” blogger.


There was one blogger that had 350 followers and I really liked her blog. I would comment and comment and comment and she never replied with a “Thank You” or ever stopped by to my paltry little blog.


It was right there and then I decided that I would never be like her.


I vowed to always reply and comment back to the people who took the time to stop by my site.


Up until about a month ago, I think I have been true to my own word. One of my favorite bloggers, Ally at Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing even gave me a special shout out because of it.


I was touched.


But you know what?


There is no way to comment back to 30-50 comments a day in a 2 hour time frame.


I try to fit in commenting in the morning, while watching TV at night and so on and so on, but I am still behind.


On top of that Emma, our dog, is most definitely dying before my eyes. One minute she is playing with Jack, the other she is laying on the ground and I swear she won’t open her eyes.


It is hard.


Then it is Spring, and we are outside more and someone thinks that she doesn’t need that extra ½-1 hour of sleep in the afternoon. A half hour makes a whole lot of difference, let me tell you.


For the past 2 weeks or so I have been working my tail off trying to accomplish this feat of getting back to everybody within a day and it is just not possible.


Originally I planned to tell you today that I was dropping down to a 3 post a week schedule so that I could get to everyone’s comments before a new post came out.


I had told a few friends and family about this and their response was shocking! Even though they have seen how much it troubles me they said to keep writing because they enjoy it.


And I am going to.  Because I love to write.


The season has changed and so has my blogging philosophy.


Don’t hate.


I am going to reply by email, if you have it turned on, to everyone. I also plan to visit everyone’s site that comments on mine, BUT it might not be on the same day anymore.


I have a lot of very loyal readers and I have to say I LOVE YOU ALL!!!


Hey Vanessa? Remember when you sent me that email when we first met saying I was all “famousy” as you put it and I laughed at you because I am so not.


Famousy isn’t everything. I do really feel bad that I don’t always get to your blog every day that you post because I really love your blog Much More Than Mommy.


Then there is ASBLACKASOBAMA’s blog I Think It’s Interesting – you know what? So do I. I love reading the stuff you put on there. It is quick. It is fun. I hate that I missed your TV Theme Song Post on Friday because I love participating in that game every week.

Really, except for the random person who leaves a “LOL” or “Too Funny” I love reading all of your blogs.  If I am not by your site every single day, it does not mean I do not like you, it just means that I just can’t get there every single day.


For those of you who email me directly with comments and questions, please still do. I love helping and listening in any way I can.

One change will be that I am adding a Top Commenters widget because I think loyalty should be recognized more than the occasional shout out. You know who you guys are.


There is one thing I am sure of: I love sharing these stories of my life with you. I love making you laugh and hearing how similar we all are.


I am almost at 500 followers and I never thought I would be here this fast. This is all new to me. Please understand that I do the best I can and that I am honored that you choose to follow and comment on what I have to say each and every day.

Thank you for sharing My Little Corner of the World


Come along with me to my little corner of the world
Dream a little dream in my little corner of the world
You’ll soon forget that there’s any other place
Tonight, my love, we’ll share a sweet embrace


And if you care to stay in my little corner of the world
We could hide away in my little corner of the world
I always knew that I’d find someone like you
So welcome to my little corner of the world


And if you care to stay in our little corner of the world
We could hide away in our little corner of the world
We always knew that we’d find someone like you
So welcome to our little corner of the world
 Music From Gilmore Girls soundtrack lyrics — My Little Corner Of The World .. Yo La Tengo

Obviously some of these lyrics aren’t appropriate, but you get the point. And I love this song! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

