Now is NOT the Time


**Tomorrow is Feel Good Friday!  Yay!  Choose a prompt, write a post and link up!**

8:00 PM is the time Emily goes to bed.


It is time to start kindergarten at age 5.


Age 13 is the time I will let my girls get their ears pierced.


It will be time to start driving at age 15.


I can say that age 30 20 16 sounds like a good time to start dating.


Age 10 is NOT the time to get “checked out” by a boy at the mall.


When Emily and I went shopping the other weekend we were heading up the escalator and she was, as usual, oblivious to the world.


I was not oblivious.


There was a boy hanging out looking over the railing and I saw him spot my girl. He was age 12 or 13 at the most.


I watched him watch her.


Nobody watched me.


I don’t know why nobody noticed me, my jaw had dropped to the floor in shock and my eyeballs popped out of their sockets.


Emily just stared into space and the boy just kept gaping at her.


We got off the escalator and his adoring gaze followed.


Eventually when we were out of site, I smacked her in the shoulder:


“Did you SEE that boy?” I asked.


“What boy?” she disgustedly asked.


So I proceeded to fill her in on the details and she proceeded to look at me like I had a hole in my head.


I can certainly say that age 10 is NOT the time for boys to be checking out my little girl.


However, I most certainly had the time of my life watching it all happen.

Leave a Reply

