The End


Did you know that I was viscously attacked by a dog in the second grade?


He used my arm as a chew toy. I got shots. He got put to sleep.


I was never a dog person after that.


The little hairs on my arms would stand on end if I came within 50 yards of a dog.


Then, as I got older, I started to like them again and my fear went away, somewhat.


I decided to get my own dog after my divorce. My mother was shocked.


“Why would you want that kind of work?” she asked.


“It has got to be easier than what I have just gone through.” I replied.


And it was.


Emma was more than what I could have hoped for in my first dog.


Yes, she had her quirks. She ate the table. She loved to dig. She hated water of any kind, even the rain.


But, she grew up.


She was loyal and more loving than I ever could have dreamed. If I petted her 24 hours a day since the day I got her, it STILL wouldn’t be enough.


She loved to love and be loved.


And to eat. Popcorn was her favorite.


She followed me everywhere, walking in front of me and looking behind, just to make sure I was still there.


From the minute we brought Sarah home from the hospital she laid by her.


She was always the first one to attend to Sarah’s needs as a baby, making Tyler and I feel like horrible people for letting Sarah cry even for a nanosecond.


She did not sleep for 2 whole months after we brought Sarah home from the hospital.


She was there for every single feeding and every single diaper change.


She would fall asleep standing up, begging for food, while we were eating dinner… THAT is how tired and stubborn she was.


She has kissed a million dirty feet and heard a zillion books at story time.


Even the day she got home from her amputation, she hobbled in to Sarah’s room for story time.


Sarah says that Emma is her “bestest buddy” and that is how we all feel.


We did everything we could to help her and lengthen her life.


And it did for awhile. She got to run and play and was pain free until recently when the cancer took over her lungs and back leg.


We hoped it would be another 2-3 YEARS not 6 months.


We made the decision to put Emma to sleep.  We had planned to do it tomorrow, but woke up today and since she has been deteriorating so fast these past few days, we had to do it this morning.


She is now happily running with the rainbows in the sky.




Thank you all in advance for your kind words and thoughts. Please take a minute or two and watch the slideshow I put together for our family.

Many of you have been here with me from the beginning, so I feel it is only right, that you are here with me in the end.


The song that accompanies the pictures is the song I used to sing to Emily in the weeks leading up to bringing Emma home.  It is The Puppy Song – (Harry Nilsson Lyrics) from the You’ve Got Mail Soundtrack.


I will be taking a few days off this week to spend with Jack and I will be back for Feel Good Friday.


As always… there is something to feel good about.


I love you Emma.


The End.

72 responses to “The End

  1. {{Hugs}}My heart is heavy for you. Little Emma. *sigh* I hope she meets my -Button- up there. ♥

  2. lucythevaliant

    Oh, I'm sorry… it's so hard.

  3. Ode to Motherhood

    Sorry for your lost…thank you for sharing Emma with us. Beautiful slide show. xx

  4. I am sorry for your loss. I know how hard it is to lose a pet, who is in reality your child.

  5. Coffee Please!?!

    teary eyed watching your slide show … we've been through it twice – both to cancer as well. it hurts like hell … sorry that you and your family have to go through this pain.

  6. I sorry for your families loss.

  7. I'm sorry that I have to take a pass on watching the video … I cried just reading the post title in my reader. I'm so sorry for your loss today … You gave her such a great life …

  8. I'm so sorry. The movie made me cry. When my dog Abby died, my husband made a similar video and "gave it" to me a few months after we put her to sleep. I cherish that video (even though it still makes me cry – she has been gone for a little over 4 years now).I knew something was up when you didn't have a post up this morning… Again, I'm sorry. Enjoy your time with Jack and I'll "talk with" you later.- Melissa

  9. Sorry for your loss. My husband was just devastated after we had to put his golden retriever named Morgan down. Sending happy thoughts your way!

  10. My Mercurial Nature

    I wasn't prepared to cry that hard this morning (even after the dog we're dog-sitting for ate my favorite shoes). I'm am SO, SO, SO sorry for your loss. I think I can understand, to some degree, the special relationship you've had with Emma (I got my little Pippin after my divorce and he's been this little, loving, stable force) and my heart just aches for you (and your girls!). ((HUGS))

  11. I'm so sorry. There are very lovable yellow and chocolate labs up there too,Cindy and Baby; I am sure they're having tons of fun chasing ground squirrels. We'll see you when you return and I'll be praying for you and your family.

  12. As soon as I saw the name of this post, I knew what it would be about and my heart sank. I'm so sorry for your loss. Emma was so lucky to have such a wonderful family to care about her so much!

  13. God bless poor little Emma. She has been through a lot and now she can run all she wants and be free of pain. I'm so sorry for your loss. It's always hard to a lose a member of the family.

  14. Katie's Dailies

    I can't bear to bring myself to watch your movie just yet. My eyes are filled with tears and tears are streaming down my face. I am so,so sorry for what you're going through. Emma will be welcomed up in Heaven because all dogs are. And she'll have my childhood Golden Retriever, Polly, to play with. I'll hug our black lab, Langley, for you. Again, I'm so sorry!

  15. Joann Mannix

    Ohhh, as soon as I saw your title I started to cry . . . knowing. I am so very, very sorry. Emma is frolicking in doggie heaven right now, with all 4 legs, running and playing and chasing squirrels and balls and eating kibble galore. May your heart heal and remember all the days of love and joy you spent together. Have a lovely week with your family. Godspeed Emma. Say hello to my black lab, Melca, for me.

  16. Mainland Streel

    I'm so sorry to hear it! I had to put down my pup when I was a teen, and it was one of the hardest things I've ever had to do.I'm happy you have so many happy memories together! 🙂

  17. My Marshall has been gone over 25 years now, and I still think about him every day. The same goes for our little boy Watson, who had his teeth cleaned in Heaven in 2001. In both cases, our vet cried with us.Wonderful video!

  18. The Drama Mama

    Thanks for sharing Emma with us. I came on late, but I am no less affected as if I had been reading all along. I too am crying. Your post tribute to her life is beautiful as is the video. My heart aches with yours. Have a wonderful week with Jack. I hope that together (and with your family) you can help each other get through this. Much love to you all.

  19. Many hugs to you my friend. I know it's terribly hard to say goodbye to a beloved family pet. My doggy drowned just last month, and it was so hard. It's wonderful to picture them in doggy heaven 🙂

  20. Sending love to you all. My daughter, who is 19, says that she was raised by our dogs, Java and Piglet. Your girls will have lovely memories, and the video is terrific. Peace to you all!

  21. I'm so sorry… I cried when I read that… I know how much you loved Emma. That was a very nice tribute.

  22. I am very very sorry 😦

  23. I'm so sorry. I was in tears before I got to the bottom…I could tell where it was going. I can't watch the slideshow, it would be too hard. But I think it's so great how you are honoring her.

  24. Thank you for sharing your memories of your sweet girl, Emma. Your slideshow was wonderful. I know going through pictures when we lost Millie several months ago helped me to grieve. Give yourself time – she was obviously a very special part of the family.

  25. She seemed like such a sweet dog (in fact, your description of her makes me want to get one myself). I'm so sorry for your loss. Take as much of a break as you need… we can wait.

  26. My heart goes out to you and your family! I hope Emma's chasing rainbows and snacking on popcorn up there with my sweet Sammie – gone but never forgotten!

  27. What a beautiful tribute to Emma. We went through something very similar 2 years ago. Only his name was Shadow, he was black and we had to put him down after his kidneys finally gave up.We had his knees replaced, but never thought the kidney would give in few years later.I am sure Shadow and Emma are chasing butterflies together watching over our children from up there.

  28. *tears

  29. Oh man! Dogs are the best! So glad that you got to have her and that she was such a good dog! Hey, I left you an award on my blog. Check it out!

  30. I'm so sorry. Blessings.

  31. My heart is broken for you. I know Emma will be waiting at the Rainbow Bridge. Lots of thoughts & prayers for you all.

  32. Oh, my dear….I am so, so sorry. Will be thinking about you guys today. Sadness.

  33. Emma, run and play to your heart's content now. You are so very loved! (((hugs)))

  34. Monique-aka-Surferwife23

    As soon as I saw the title of this post, my heart dropped. The pictures are beautiful. RIP Sweet Emma.

  35. Oh, what a sweet slide show, I have tears in my eyes! I'm so sorry you had to say goodbye to her so soon, thinking of you:)

  36. ASBLACKASOBAMA

    Oh man…. I'm so sorry…. I'm sitting here bawling at my desk….We just lost our dog, Cowboy, a few months ago. We got a new dog to try to fill the hole in our hearts, but it still hurts…. My wife and I burst into tears every time our four year old son gets his puppy dog eyes and says 'Daddy, I miss Cowboy'….I hope you take enough time to grieve over the loss of your good friend and you remember that she will always be in your heart….

  37. Oh. I'm so sorry – it's always so hard to lose a member of the family. You gave Sarah a great gift with this wonderful friend – she'll never forget it.::Hug::

  38. Eternal Lizdom

    I know your pain. I know your sadness. I also know your joy at having had the best dog ever.

  39. hugs to you and your family. lovely video.

  40. I'm so sorry. I know how hard it is. I'm not a dog person usually, but I fell in love with my husband's dog and it tore me up when he died. Hang in there.

  41. Oh honey. I am so sorry! I'm crying for you. I wish I could give you a big hug. Sending your family lots of love from Iowa. 😦 (((hugs)))

  42. I am so sad for you all, I can tell from watching that wonderful montage just how awesome she was and how much you all loved her. I have never had to put an animal to sleep so I can't even imagine. I love the song you choose its so cute!

  43. I'm so sorry for your loss. I had to put my cat down last year. I have tears running down my cheeks for you and your family. I can't watch the video. It will send me over the edge.

  44. DysFUNctional Mom

    I'm glad you had that time with her, and she was able to show you what dogs are really all about.So sorry for your loss.

  45. WhisperingWriter

    I am so sorry 😦

  46. Much More Than Mommy

    So sorry for you and your family – saying a prayer for all of you because I know pets *are* family too.

  47. Stacy's Snippets

    Oh how I feel for you. I love my dogs so much, I dread this day for myself.I am so glad that you had so many wonderful years with your sweet Emma.

  48. My heart is breaking for you.

  49. tears. nothing but tears. not for emma: I know she's okay. But for you, the girls, and Tyler. i'd say more but I can't. Prayers and best wishes. and love.

  50. Its amazing how an animal can become an integral part of a family. When Sarah has her childhood memories, Emma will be in them. Thats awesome. Congratulations of finding such a family member to share in some of your life. Her impact will be a lasting one.

  51. Girl ~ I knew that this was going to be about Emma as soon as I saw the title. I am so sorry for all of you, but know that Emma is chasing butterflys and is pain free now. I am so sorry. 😦 Sending you all hugs and good vibes/positive energy.

  52. Michelle Pixie

    Oh I am so sorry. {{{HUGS}}} She was beautiful and the video was such a beautiful tribute.

  53. Oh, Laura, I am so, so sorry for your loss. I can tell from all the times you've updated us on her what a special member of the family she was. But putting her to sleep was probably the best thing– watch a dog suffer is never any fun and not how you want to remember her last days. Many hugs to all of you! Hang in there as best you can. Losing a pet is never easy…Marianne

  54. Mom of the Perpetually Grounded

    Oh, you know my heart goes out to you and the whole family. it's so hard to lose a special family friend who has been through so much with you. I know there is a really sweet Golden named Kenzie who has been at the dog park in heaven for only a little while. Maybe they can meet and hang out:)

  55. I got an email and a picture entitled "The Last Kiss" from a very dear friend today. The picture was of her Yorkie licking her cheek before they took him to be put to sleep. It was the sweetest and saddest picture I have ever seen. I couldn't stop crying.

  56. I am so sorry for your family's loss. My heart goes out to your family.

  57. The Random Blogette

    I am so sorry about your loss! The hardest thing is having to put an animal to sleep. Just think that she will no longer be in pain.

  58. Awe, Emma was a beautiful dog. I'm so sorry you had to let her go. May she rest well!

  59. The Future Missy Prissy RN

    Ohhhh, I just ran across your page, and I am so so so sorry you had to let Emma go. I wish I could have stumbled upon a happy moment, but I guess this was meant to happen this way. Keep up the great blogging, you have alot of interested readers!!!

  60. The Chicken's Consigliere

    What a beautiful tribute to Emma. I'm sorry. I think Emma might say she had found heaven on earth. You are just one of the sweetest bloggers I've come across, you really are.

  61. Mommy on the Spot

    Oh, I am so sorry to hear your loss. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts.

  62. Saying goodbye to a family pet is so sad. We put our cat down four days before our wedding on my birthday. We had no idea she was even dying, we thought she had a cold 😦 So sorry for your lost. Hugs!!!FourthGradeNothing.com

  63. Life As I Know It

    Aw, I'm sorry. Emma was a beautiful dog. Pets become part of our families, I'm sorry for your loss.

  64. I am sorry for your loss…Losing your bestest buddy sucks =(

  65. Elizabeth Channel

    Oh sadness…that is so, so hard.

  66. I am so sorry for your loss. How wonderful that you have such grand memories of your bestest buddy. She's beautiful!

  67. So sorry for your loss.

  68. Oh no! I'm saddened to come here today and read this. My heart goes out to you and your family…losing a pet is like losing a beloved family member. The pain is just as real…just as intense.

  69. Ugh, I am a wreck after reading that. As soon as I read that you wanted us to watch the slide show and I scrolled down and saw that first photo. That was IT for me. The water works started. I didn't want to watch the video, but out of respect to you and the love of your puppy, I had to watch. I loved it so much. Thank you for sharing with us.

  70. jbvadeboncoeur.info

    Love and prayers to all of you. What a beautiful tribute. Peace.

  71. What a sweet tribute…

  72. RedheadedStepchild

    Hugs to you. I am so sorry for your family's loss. Only other animal people really "get" the depth of love we have for our furkids.

Leave a Reply

