Feel Good Friday: My Drug Induced Epiphany

  **Want to join in on Feel Good Friday?  Choose a prompt, write a post and link up!**

 

 What makes me feel good this week?  How long do you have?

I am well now and my mind is clear, but let me tell you a little story of how I got to this point…

If you don’t already know, I have been really sick.  On Sunday, May 16th, I went into Urgent Care and they thought I was coming down with Bacterial Bronchitis, even though the chest x-rays were clear.

Do you know what this meant?

It meant that I spent a lot of time lying around feeling like death warmed over.

It meant that I had a lot of time to look at my house.

It also meant that I had to take some pretty weird pills that played games with my mind.

I had an epiphany, you see.

On Monday night while eating dinner I made “An Announcement.”

Me, the person that could not even manage to pick out a pair of matching pajamas, told my family that I was done with blogging.  I had bigger priorities in life.

What were these priorities?

I needed to spend my free time cleaning more.

Yep.  That was my 3 prescription, fever induced epiphany. 

All I heard was the sound of forks hitting plates.

All I saw was 3 mouths hanging open.

And then I told them that I also was going to strip down our kitchen cabinets and paint them white.   I could totally do that, you know.  It would look fantastic.

I think that is when Tyler blocked HGTV from our Satellite lineup.

On Friday night I made another “Announcement.”

It kind of went something like,

“Oh by the way, I am so NOT going to stop blogging and clean.  What was I thinking?  How much more can I clean this place than I already do?  Thank goodness I am off all of my meds now.  What other little nuggets of wisdom spewed out of my mouth these past 5 days?”

Which was followed by…

“I still think I can do the cabinets by myself.”

So what made me feel “good” about all of this? 

Every single person in my family thought the house was clean enough.

My house is clean enough… that makes me feel GREAT!

 

59 responses to “Feel Good Friday: My Drug Induced Epiphany

  1. LOL, drug induced epiphanies can be hysterical! A good friend of mine was with me when I was zooming on drugs and she loves to tell the story! I’m so glad you’re feeling better and that your whole family thinks your house is clean enough!

    ~Mimi, who’s happy you’re still blogging! Oh, and I’m usually at Woven by Words, but I’ve got a couple of posts going up so I figured I’d do my FGF at Marvelous Mom Reviews

  2. Clean enough is good for me! I’m glad you’re feeling better, and glad your head is clear now! No more of those crazy thoughts!

  3. Your medicine sure did make you wacky!!! Give up blogging to clean more… I think not!

    I will be doing a ‘Feel Good Friday’ post – but it’s going to be later today (just so you know).

    Have a great Friday!

  4. Stop blogging to clean???? Those must have been some powerful meds!

    I painted the cabinets cream in my last house. It turned out beautiful – no HGTV required.

  5. I have missed you. I am glad you feel better. And yea for your house being clean enough.
    I get excited when the hubby notices I vacuumed all the rugs. I did it yesterday but he didn’t notice. I’ll let them get dirtier this time around.
    Happy Friday.

  6. I was pretty shocked when you said that last week. I thought, Wow, WordPress has really done her in, to make her give up blogging! I didn’t realize I was talking to a strung-out druggie!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. And I’m glad your house is clean enough. If you ever feel the penchant again for a super clean house while in a drug induced state, come on over to my house. There’s PLENTY to do here.

    Oh, and of course, I did not follow the directions correctly on the linky. Can you somehow change my link to my blog name instead of my name? I’m such a goob.

    • Yes I am sorry!!! I was strung out, wasn’t I? Heck, I also almost watched Keeping up with the Kardashians….. That is hownsick I was!!!!

  7. Ok I have to ask – why the switch to WP? I know alot of people are doing it, just curious

  8. I always get sick of my house when I get sick, but I’ve learned two things: 1) the house looks fine once I get better and 2) if I stay healthy then I don’t freak out as much about my house. It’s a win/win situation all around!

    Glad you’re feeling better and glad that you decided not to quit blogging. You know you’re my hero, dontcha? Happy weekend!! : )

  9. House cleaning is way over rated anyway, however good blog posts now that is a life necessity!! Welcome back Laura and hope you continue feeling well and no more weird wacky thought inducing drugs in your immediate future!!

    jackie

  10. Excellent!! LOL about blocking HGTV – I watched that channel for 3 weeks straight after my back surgery, which also led to me announcing to my husband that I wanted to paint the kitchen and get new curtains for the whole house. His response: are you crazy? Ha.

  11. Oh I’m glad you’re off those drugs! I had to quit HGTV cold turkey several years ago because there wasn’t anything left in my house to decoupage. Now I gave up housework for blogging and no one even seemed to notice. So glad you are back!

  12. Hell I think the house is clean enough and I’ve never been there. Quit blogging that is just ridiculous! Heck you don’t even need to move that stack of books and the plant in the middle of the floor as far as I concerned.

  13. Oh I LOVE your story! And I am so glad that you are back and DID NOT give up on blogging!

  14. Yo, yo, yo! Welcome back!

    Sorry you violated the cardinal rule of mommyhood: mothers are never allowed to get sick. Please don’t do that again…..

    And, oui, je parle francais et tu parles, aussi! Tres bien! Je parle alot of other things lately, too, but I’m not so sure we’d like to see them in print.

    Congrats on the new look; love your decorator. You must have found her in the Hamptons, no?

    • Oui, mon amie! Je parle francais pour huit ans, mais j’espere parler espanol.

      OK that was botched a bit…

  15. As a professional, a blogger and a Mom (not in that order!) it is so easy to fall into the trap of feeling like you aren’t doing well enough; not a good enough Mom, not enough traffic to your site, not good enough at work, and ever mention the state of the house and garden! I love the lift your blog provides. I have written about 5 things I love about my job (my blog is about work) and have linked to you in two places. I hope more people follow your lead! Continued success in your Positive Attitude Movement!

  16. Oh thank goodness. I almost had a panic for a second there. I’m glad the no blogging thing was only drug induced!

  17. I can relate. I’m a neat freak and having a clean house makes me happy!

    Glad you’re feeling better too.

  18. Found you a couple of weeks ago and thought this sounded like fun, so this is my first FEEL GOOD FRIDAY!!

    Sorry you have been feeling bad, glad you are back!!

    Dollycas

  19. Yay! You’re back. I missed FGF last week. I need to get my post up today. But it’s gonna have to wait. LB says it’s breakfast time!!!

  20. About your epiphany. It reminded me of Jerry Maguire

    Dorothy: I loved your memo, by the way.
    Jerry: Thanks… actually, it was just a “Mission Statement.”

    I’m glad the drugs are out of your system now:)

  21. Glad your off those drugs now! Looking forward to hearing much more (with possible pictures of those white cabinets!).

  22. LOL @ your announcement. My family would die laughing.

    Visiting from Laundry Hurts My Feelings. She thinks your awesome, so I’m taking her word for it. 🙂

  23. I am so glad you are feeling better. I love the new look!

  24. oops. Somehow I linked twice #18 and #19. Anyone reading both those Madisons are me and will take you to the same place…sorry. Laura, if you can please delete the #18 one. Again, sorry.

  25. Stay well. I’m glad you’re still blogging. I suppose like housework, blogs will be around for years. Blogs are so much more fun and yours is especially fun for me. Bless you.

  26. I almost panicked when I read that! SO glad you’re not giving up blogging, and I’m even happier to hear you’re feeling better. Take care!

    I love it that you’ve switched to WP, and your new blog design looks fabulous. Congrats!

    Hugs.

  27. I feel most good this Friday about my new office chair!!

  28. I just unfollowed so I could refollow. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  29. clean enough is clean enough is good enough.

    I agree.

  30. I announce my blogging demise every other week. Nobody even listens to me now.

    PS My house is and always will be a wreck.

  31. I am so glad that you are back! I love your new site; it looks great!

    Meds can totally mess with your head. I am glad you didn’t make any rash decisions. Your family is so sweet and supportive of you. That’s awesome.

    And about the cabinents, the kitchen is a big place to start. Maybe practice in a bathroom or laundry room or something. Or don’t. That’s cool, too!

    Forgive me for not doing Feel Good Friday. I am sleep deprived and feeling a bit yucky, and I think sleep might have to take priority tonight. I’ll be sure to do it next week!

    Have a great weekend!

  32. I think a tiny part of me died when you said you were going to stop blogging. So glad it was just the drugs talking!

    Two years ago when I had Shingles, I was on a combination of 3 medications, and I don’t even remember the first week! I was just saying at work a couple weeks ago how I never call is sick, and my boss pointed out that I called in when I had Shingles. I told her it doesn’t count if you’re stoned and don’t even remember calling in!

    Anywho. Glad feel good Friday is back, have a great weekend!

  33. omg, not even big-time hallucinagenics could make me say i was giving up my blog. it’s like my own version of crack.

    the only thing that could have topped your announcement would be if you had actually started taking down the cabinets. go for the gold next time.

    🙂

  34. Hey there!
    I’m sharing my first award with you…The Versatile Blogger! Hope you enjoy it! And thanks for keeping me entertained! If you want it, come on over: http://www.homemakerspensieve.com/2010/05/29/my-first-award/

  35. Well, thank goodness you came to your senses! Phew! We almost lost ya there!

  36. Never utter those words again!! Stop blogging?!?! That is only acceptable if there is a gun to your head and even then it’s difficult to say.

    blogging is what makes babies cute and rainbows appear after a rain shower. Blogging is the reason while bacon tastes so good.

    I’m glad you came to your senses. I believe you can do the cabinets.

  37. What? clean instead of blogging? Never! lol
    Glad you are feeling better!~

  38. So glad you’re feeling better!
    And how wonderful your family all agrees that the house is clean enough; I think I’d be doing some major celebrating! 🙂

  39. Happy to have you back!

    My feel good moment…. My son last night, before going to bed, and not understanding that Memorial Day is a national holiday that most people get to take off, says to me ‘Daddy, can you please stay home tomorrow? You can work from home! I will help!’

    As soon as he wakes up this morning, I’m on my way home…. To play, not to work…. lol

  40. Tim would LOVE for me to give up blogging, although he’s never complained about the state of our house’s cleanliness. I’m sure the house could use more attention but the kids will just mess it up anyway so it would be a waste of my time.

    Glad you came to your senses because you would be greatly missed!

  41. Thanks so much for joining the Friday Follow this week.

  42. That is definitely a feel good moment. I’m so glad you are feeling better.

  43. I don’t know how to do it either. I should really find out!

Leave a Reply

