The Alice Cooper Tradition

 

Please take a minute to visit my sponsor, Fancybelle Boutique.  She has so many adorable, low priced items for women and children!  Thank you.

Also, tomorrow is Feel Good Friday!!!!  Get your post ready now!

 

Every year since I was in the 4th grade, my parents played Alice Cooper’s “School’s Out” when they picked me up on the last day of school.


They would see me walking out of school, roll down the windows and BLAST this song:


 



And ever since Emily began school, I do the exact same thing.


It is our tradition.


So today at 3:40 PM CST.  You will know what I will be doing.


I never in a million years thought anyone else did the same thing until I read one of my Bestest Blogger Friends, Katie of Katie’s Dailies, Feel Good Friday post.


My mouth dropped open until I realized that, of course she would do that too!!!  It is just one of the many, many reasons why I  love her!!!  If you aren’t already following her, please check her out. 


Together, we are doing a happy dance because our kids are finally out of school.  This is something we have been waiting for since September!!!


Here’s to the Lazy, Hazy, Crazy, Days of Summer!!!!


25 responses to “The Alice Cooper Tradition

  1. Wow! Your parents are super cool, dude 😉
    Did you think it was cool when you were a teen? I always wonder if teens with cool parents realize it at the time.

  2. Yay! No school for three months! My wife and I are trying to figure out the best route for my son…. We’re thinking about home school (my wife was home schooled), or other options (we’re leaning more on the home school side, my wife is very persuasive)….

    I bet you guys are going to have a summer of wall to wall fun!

  3. DOH!!! Bless your heart, look at you! Thank you for the shout out!!

    And have a totally cool,fun, wonderful, hot (but not too hot), crazy, happy,terrific, FUN FILLED summer with your girls!

    And let’s hope that the school admin. in Arkansas and Minnesota forget about that icky, gross, horrible, gut wrenching first day of school this fall!

    : )

  4. I don’t know if you have realized it or not, but Katie (from Katie’s Dailies) and I live in the same town (and it isn’t a really big town). Kinda neat, huh? And we do not know each other… although her daughter attends high school within walking distance to my home… cool, huh?

  5. It’s a GREAT song! I used to sing it on the last day of school every year. It always makes me think of the movie Dazed and Confused.

  6. Oh my gosh, how cool that you both do this!!! I didn’t play a song but I did a treasure hunt on the last day of school every year. 🙂

  7. Your poor kids, do they hide their heads in shame yet? At least find a re make from this decade. I’d be more impressed if it was, “Another Brick In The Wall Part II” by Pink Floyd “Hey teachers leave those kids alone!

  8. I have been thinking of that song all week. Will be singing it tomorrow!!

  9. What an awesome family tradition!! You and your mom are such fun! Happy summer to you and the kids! 🙂

  10. Very cool tradition to have. I’d probably start something like that with my little one, but I’m 95% sure I’m going to be home schooling her.

    I hope that you have a wonderful summer with the kids. Do lots of wild, crazy, and fun things and on some of them don’t forget the camera so we can share in your fun.

  11. Man, I LOVE that song and I LOVE that tradition. Of course, both of you cool girls would do something like that. I am stealing it.

    Unfortunately, I can’t use it today, since another mom picks up car pool today for my youngest. My middle girl isn’t even coming home today, since she is the social butterfly of the family and today starts her social season.

    Well, I’ll sing it to my girl when she gets home.

    Here we go! Start the summer fun.

  12. Yahooo! Enjoy the freedom that summer brings!

  13. What a neat tradition! Enjoy your summer!

  14. School’s been burned to pieces….

    You mean there are people that don’t sing that on the last day of school?

  15. When I was teaching, I did the same thing!! Also, I would listen to the whole Dazed and Confused soundtrack for like the last month of school. I know everyone would say the kids were excited to get out for summer, but I think the teachers were a bit more excited than them!

  16. Chip off the old block(s)! How great is that!

  17. Ah, yes! Summer in Tucson! Last Sunday it was 108 degrees. Today the temp of our pool is 85 degrees! I get up in the middle of the night to sneak out and turn the thermostat by my bedroom down to 75. An hour later, Rod sneaks out and turns it back up to 78.

    The best thing is that I can hang my golf shirts outside on hangers and they are bone dry in 15 minutes! I LOVE SUMMER!

  18. I don’t know that I have ever even heard that song…I hope that doesn’t knock me out of my VP position:) Although, I know someone else with that tradition too…a girl I went to high school with who also has a blog said she did the same thing last week on her son’s last day!

  19. I love that you have this tradition!

    Isn’t it an awesome moment when you discover that you have yet one more thing in common with someone you just know is your soul sister?

  20. GND-I’m reading and I’m saying to myself, wait, I know I lost track of her blog but I also know…I’ve read this Alice Cooper post….and then it all became clear:-) Have a great summer. Love the look of your new blog.

Leave a Reply

