Feel Good Friday: A Feel Good Summer

 

**You must have something to feel good about!  Choose a prompt and link up!**


Today is our first day of summer. 


I have been waiting for this since the first day of school. 


Yesterday I shed a few tears because Emily started the day as a 4th grader and walked out of school a 5th grader.


Time just goes by so fast.

 

Too fast.


We will start our day today by making a list.  Every summer we make a list of everything we want to do… however last summer, our list was a bit shorter.


Last summer we completely remodeled our back yard and front yard which meant no grass for running.


Last summer our neighborhood streets were also getting dug up and re-done which meant no biking, walking or scootering.


Last summer we waited…

 

We waited for warmer weather that never came.


We waited for sod.


We waited for the pool to finally get done only for it to be too cold to swim.


We waited for the bulldozers to leave.


We waited for the roads to get poured.


It didn’t matter though, we still had a great time.


We were together.

 

This summer the wait is over and we have 90 days.


90 days…


To have picnics and swim.


To garden and bike and chalk and swing.


To grill and make smores.


To do everything, or to do nothing…


Just as long as we do it together.

 

There is going to come a time when Emily will not find having a picnic with “Mommy” so super fun and exciting.


But she does now.


And now is all I have.


Today I feel good because I have 90 days ahead of me with my girls.  I have a whole summer of feel good moments to look forward to with my family.


Here’s to a Feel Good Summer!


59 responses to “Feel Good Friday: A Feel Good Summer

  1. As always this “Feel Good” post made me smile. Happy summer!

  2. It sounds like you’re off to a good start – ENJOY!

  3. I love seeing parents that enjoy spending the summers with their children. Some dread it like the plague. I miss those days!

  4. Sounds lovely! Good luck with your list! I am sure it will be full of fabulous things to do with your summer!

  5. I hope you have an awesome summer full of all the things you love!

  6. I love that you make an actual list of all the things you want to do!!

  7. Sounds like you have a great summer ahead of you! That pool will be amazing!

  8. Enjoy your yard, your pool, your girls. But not necessarily in that order:)

  9. omg – I’m going through that Now is All I have right now with my grandchildren. You made me tear up. 😦 It’s all good though 🙂

  10. I love how happy this post is. Most optimistic one I’ve read about summer. Me, I usually complain about it. *blushes*

  11. All right—are we clones? WE made our Summer List just a couple days ago of everything we wanted to do, too!!

    What a happy,happy post this is! : )

  12. You are so upbeat and I’m sure the next 90 days of togetherness is going to rock. I hope that you get to do everything that is on your list.

  13. Happy summer to you and your family! Enjoy every moment! 🙂

  14. YAY for summer and not having to wait any more! Living in limbo totally sucks. 🙂

  15. I love it that you’re so excited about summer! I’ve been seeing friends all week dreading it on FB.

  16. Ah I remember it well, the lazy days of summer as a child going Horseback riding in the evenings with my parents with my little beagle/basset mix running along with us. The weekend go hike out in the woods and build a camp fire to roast hot dogs at my Grandma’s place. The long days of lazing out in the back yard with a book and sun bathing. Where did that time go, oh yeah that’s right I am now older than my Mom was while I was doing all these fun things and my children have fur and beady eyes and lots of hair and stuff to clean up after, *BG*!!

    Have a great summer Laura, you have only 90 days and let me tell you they FLY BY!!!!

    Thanks for the smile for a while today..

    jackie b

  17. I am so happy to hear about your summer plans.

    Today I share about my wonderful daughter who is graduating from high school tomorrow.

    I love this meme, it never fails to put a smile on my face and I need it today because it is raining and I really need nice weather for tomorrow. Hopefully all this feeling good with bring out the sun.

    Dollycas

  18. You are in store for a wONDERFUL summer!

    I work full-time and I’m taking a summer class, but the second half of summer will joyfully contain NO class AND a week long vacation to the beach! 😀

  19. This made me tear up. I hope you and your girls have a blast…sounds like you will though, no matter what.
    This is my last summer with my 4 year old before he starts full day pre-k in September.
    We made a list too. A long list and I’m looking forward to doing so many of the things.
    Cheers to summer Laura!!!! Cheers to SUMMER!!

  20. Visited everyone and it truly is a FEEL GOOD FRIDAY!!!

  21. Love Summer! 🙂 Even though my kid has passed that stage of wanting me to picnic and spend time with him…and I don’t have to stay after him in his school work…I love knowing school is out! 🙂

  22. I hope you guys have a great summer!

    PS Now I have a 5th grader, too. How the heck did that happen?

  23. awww enjoy the summer with your girls and your family.

  24. Such a moving post. Truly. It made me tear up a little for the days gone by because my girls are now in their teens and they spend a lot of time finding their own fun. But, still for teenagers, they also spend a lot of their days here with me. In fact, most of the time, if they’re in the house, they are surrounding me. They’ve never gotten over the chicks with their mamma thing. It is a beautiful thing, to be the mother of daughters. We are blessed.

    Have I told you how much I love your Girl Next Door little character up there at the top. She’s mighty cute.

  25. You are right, summer is totally the best! Something else for you to try that we love: taking your art outdoors! Like setting up an easel in the backyard or painting a bunch of rocks for your garden. Enjoy your summer!

  26. Your list sounds like a great idea, maybe I should do one with my daughters! No doubt, everything on their list would cost me money though:(

    Have a great weekend:)

  27. I am totally looking forward to this summer, too. Last summer I had a brand new adorable yet fussy baby. Now he’s old enough to do stuff. So yeaaa!

    Also, smores are AWESOME!! Already made some 🙂

  28. Wow, where the heck have I been? I thought I loaded the new link. Could have sworn. I feel good this Friday because I remembered to come back. ALRIGHT ALREADY Katie’s blog reminded me. Missed you GND. You make me feel good every day.

  29. Live it up sister. Those 90 days fly by…okay, some of them don’t…the ones near the end…but most of them do!

  30. I do hope we get a real summer this year! Last year was an amazing disappointment. We went from Spring to Fall with no Summer. Very sad!! Sorry I wasn’t able to join the FGF…again. Son had 2 baseball games in a row so we weren’t home until after 9pm Wed & Thurs. I’ve worked every day this week since Mon. and tonight after work gathered 6 boys and went to the St. Cloud Riverbats (college) baseball game. We weren’t home until after 10pm. =( It’s been a long week! Have a great weekend. Was hoping to go on a hike, but it looks like showers all weekend. Waaaah, it’s my weekend off. LOL

    ~Mimi, up Nort’

  31. This summer is going to be great….my gosh, every summer just gets better and better…I realize how quickly my kids are growing…

  32. I am so looking forward to this summer too. I have so much planned. School isn’t out here until the 18th though, despite that summer has already started. Summer is reason enough to feel good!

  33. what a beautiful post! i often label mine with “little things” and “balance” and “living” and i think on many levels i’m striving to do just what you so simply wrote about “BEING together” and sharing the precious moments because they go so fast…

  34. Beverly@Beverly's Back Porch

    I can still remember peanut butter sandwiches and Hershey Bars in the back yard with my grandmother. It was so special because she put them in old cigar boxes with lids.

    Enjoy every moment with them.

  35. Like you say there might be some years when Emily will not find having a picnic with Mom so enjoyable, but I think that enjoyment will return once she is grown and especially once she has children.

    I’m happy for you now as you are enjoying those strong bonds that nothing can break.

  36. I love that you’re excited to have your girls with you all summer! Too many parents dread all that time with their kids. Enjoy every moment!

  37. glad there is no waiting this summer….=)

  38. Last summer I was so nervous about the time alone with my girls, and it flew by and I had so much fun — this year I was looking forward to it! And still enjoying every moment! 🙂

  39. Love your attitude! Hope you have a fabulous summer.

  40. I love your attitude 🙂 Make this summer memorable! That is my goal as well. Try new things, go new places. This is your children’s/child’s childhood! Fill it with wonderful memories and fill your own summer with memories for you as well 🙂

  41. Hallelujah! What a wonderful post! You’re going to have such a great summer!

  42. I love summer! I am looking forward to doing all of those things too! AND going to the beach!

  43. I absolutely love this! So many parents grumble about their kids being out of school because they have to entertain them. I love being with my girls and having that time with them. Makes me so happy for summer!

  44. mmm s’mores (what is that apostrophe replacing? an ‘A’?)

    Yay for summer!! I can’t wait to have kids to enjoy a picnic with.

Leave a Reply

