"C’mon, C’mon Touch Me Baby…"

 

Now, I’m gonna love you
Till the heavens stop the rain
I’m gonna love you
Till the stars fall from the sky for you and I

-The Doors

 

I will love Tyler until the heavens stop the rain, but seriously, when I said to him that we needed to touch each other more, I did not mean this:



I meant we needed to hug or kiss or snuggle, but he had to be so funny coming up with something new.


I must admit, though, that this finger touch is catching on…


When he left for work yesterday morning, instead of a big hug and kiss, I just reached up and poked his cheek.


And when we went to bed the other night I didn’t have to lean over to give him a kiss, I just threw my arm over and gave him a quick poke.


I do not think he imagined that I would embrace his new way of affection with such vigor.


I think he is regretting it.


I am not. 


I am having a ball.


Do you and your spouse hug, kiss and snuggle regularly?  Maybe you need to incorporate the finger touch too?

 

I dare you!

88 responses to “"C’mon, C’mon Touch Me Baby…"

  1. Love it! I’ll have to give it a try! Do I have to make that face too if he does it back to me? 🙂

  2. hahahaha. That is too funny. My husband does that to me, only he pokes his finger in my mouth every time I yawn…it’s so annoying. He thinks it’s hilarious! My husband is actually much more affectionate than I am, he’s very touchy feely, I am a little bit but I like my space more. I do like to cuddle with him on the couch when we watch tv and stuff 🙂

  3. I’m big on hugging. And I’m a patter. I love giving little love pats to by boys.
    You are too much!

    • I am touchy feely, so I want MORE!!! However, this finger touch is so funny. He just really never thought it would be used on him. I am driving him nuts!

  4. I am too lazy to roll over and kiss my husband good night sometimes. On those nights, I just reach behind me and pat him on the chest/stomach and tell him I love him! He leaves before I wake up each morning. Several years ago I told him to kiss me before he leaves. He thinks I’m crazy, but my whole day goes better if he does!

  5. lol too funny!

  6. We hug/cuddle/makeout like high school kids. It’s ridiculous. But I love it. 🙂

  7. Funny! Love it! Hubs and I snuggle. I love it.

  8. We started out snuggling and being all handsy, but since I’ve been getting hot flashes now, I just throw his arm off me and tell him to leave me alone, and if he DOES cuddle with me, then he has put on his hip waders to swim through the sweat pouring off me.

    Pretty romantic, huh? Maybe I’ll just poke him in the cheek next time.

  9. Sadly I have no one to try this little experiment on, it doesn’t sound like something you try on a beginner. On the Math.com front The first woman to contact me IS till interested just busy and there is now a second woman e mailing me– ohhhhhhhh.

  10. They think they are so cute, don’t they? This is a good one…I’ll have to give it a try.

  11. I may try this just for giggles. I am not a big cuddler. It makes me feel like I am being smothered. But it is nice to feel that “touch” every once in a while… not sexual touch – just the closeness. Hugs, sweet embraces… that sort of thing.

  12. That gives the phrase “I wish my husband would poke me more often” a WHOLE NEW meaning!! 🙂

  13. Haha! I am SO gonna do this with my husband! This is completely his kind of humor too =)

  14. Hysterical! This is one of those things that somehow just starts and becomes part of the relationship vocabulary. Absolutely adorable!

  15. This is a long running game in my family. You get your finger next to the cheek with out the other person noticing and then you get their attention so that they turn into your finger! Although my husband never falls for it anymore…onto the kids!

  16. Maybe it is like that facebook poking thing!
    My husband and I always kiss before bed and when he comes home from work. Other than that, we are too busy:)

  17. LOL! I’ve only been married 3 months and I’m at that place where I have to tell my husband to scoot over or he’s going to smother me to death. The man would sunggle all night if I let him. I’ll have him read this post and see if he thinks it would work for him. 🙂

  18. Love the picture. The poke, just like a man; I love that you turned it around on him though. Makes me think, I wonder what annoying brush off gestures my husband makes. I’ll have to think about that and maybe one will make an appearance on my blog.

  19. My son pokes me instead of kissing me or hugging me in front of his friends, because that wouldn’t be cool.

  20. I’m digging the idea of the finger touch! As long as no ‘wet willies’ are involved (lick your finger and stick it in another person’s ear). I totally love all your awesome t-shirts.

  21. Around here it’s more of the peck before leaving or going to bed. … You’ve lost that lovin’ feelin’…

    Should sing… Reach out and touch me… Ok, maybe not!

  22. hi mommy

  23. My husband thinks that cuddling only happens when we’re naked. It’s a joke we have going. Sex is cuddling in his world. I think a cuddle can only happen whilst fully clothed.

    A poke on the cheek? I think that’s just begging to miss and poke someone’s eye out.

    Safety glasses anyone?

  24. Hahahahaha. I’m so going to pull this on GC tonight.

    The first thought that came to mind when I saw your picture was “Stop touching me. Stop touching me!” and the little boy then says “I’m not touching you, I’m not touching you.” hahah. Good stuff.

  25. Ha! You are hilarious. Sounds like my hubby’s sense of humor. I’ll have to try it out on him sometime! Oh, and nice necklace you’re wearing in that photo!! 🙂

  26. Hilarious! I LOVE that you beat him at his own (funny) game. :0)

  27. Hubby wants to hug and kiss a lot. I’m not so huggy and kissy. Especially not when I’m trying to get the kids out the door in the mornings. I don’t feel like hugging and kissing!

  28. Might have to try the finger poke. I’m sure we can take it to a whole new level. We haven’t been married that long for the snuggling/hugging/kissing thing to be on the back burner. Watch out honey, tonight you are getting finger poked.

  29. I felt like I was looking into a mirror right there! You have no idea what my life has been like. Actually you do. You’re clearly living it.

  30. that is too funny- the pic and the touching thing. my hubs hates physical contact. he’s getting slightly better, but it’s very very rough for me, i’m very affectionate. he doesn’t allow snuggling, hand holding, nothing. a few weeks ago, we were at the movies. i swear, i’m not lying. the night before i cried about the fact that we have no physical contact and are just ‘buddies’ … the next night, at the movies, he reached over and held my hand for five whole minutes. no lie, i felt as if i was 15 again and my crush just dropped a hint that he liked me back. i felt like i could cry! it was so odd. how pathetic am i? 😦

    • Not pathetic at all. Tyler will hold, hug and kiss but to a point. Then he says it riles him up, so maybe that is why your husband doesn’t either.

      My heart soars if we get to hold hands.

  31. We always make a snuggle at night, and that is the best! We always kiss goodnight.

    We were riding along through Texas on our way home from “The Trip” and Rod said, out of the blue, “No one loves us as much as we love each other.” Now, is that not mind-blowingly wonderful???

  32. haha i love it!!!! that sounds like something my hubby would do! I never thought of returning the favor though! Awesom! Love the new layout btw~!

  33. That pic cracked me up. We love on each other quite well. I hope that lasts forever. 🙂

  34. As your photo was loading, I was just waiting to see “where” he was touching you! LOL He could’ve been picking your nose. =)

    I think that is absolutely hysterical and should be passed on from generation to generation.

    Have you practiced saying, “kids daddy’s touching me!” with a really whiny voice?

    ~Mimi

  35. Ohhhh no I should do that!!!! Or not. It might start a trend!

  36. I hate getting poked. My kids are always poking me, but I’m going to definitely try it on my husband.

    Yes, my husband, too, thinks every touch needs to turn sexual. I have never had a real back massage from him. Never. His hands are like magnets drawn to the front no matter how many times I yell, “That’s not my back!”

  37. Just so you know, I read your post this morning, and that Doors song has been running through my head all day . . . and not in a good way. sigh.

  38. My wife and I are not too touchy feely…. We’ve been together for a loooooong time, since we’ve been teenagers…. I was never touchy feely…. We’ve grown to be a little more touchy feelier, but now we’ve got two little monkeys, so it’s hard to give each other hugs when we have little ones who love to hug all the time…. (Was that a run on sentence? Or just the longest sentence ever? Did it make sense?)

    Anyway, I’ll try touching her face when I get home, and then typing tomorrow’s post with the nine fingers I have left….

  39. For us it’s not so much a poke, it’s more of a grab. And now that song is totally in my head!

  40. Funny… hubby and I LOVE to cuddle and attempt it quite often. However the baby chihuahua things that is play time and promptly jumps into the middle of us for horseplay… even in bed! So we’ve resorted to touching anywhere, anyway we can to keep ourselves reminded that the other is real and still alive. LOL

  41. Ok, before I even read the post, you totally had me with the Happy Bunny t-shirt and I don’t even know what it says!

    P.S. Now I have that song in my head, thanks for that!

    • I love Happy Bunny!!! They are pjs and it says, Nobodys Perfect, but I Am as Close as it Gets! I got it as a Christmas gift 4 years ago. It is freezing here lately so i am wearing warm jammies.

      How about the Wonder Pets theme song in your head?

      “wonder pets, wonder pets
      We’re on our way
      To help poor Shawn and fix his car…”

  42. A few years ago I told John that I wanted him to kiss me more. So now every time he kisses me, he kisses me twice. Two kisses.
    I think something was lost in translation……….

  43. Maybe the finger touch is just what I need to save my relationship..

  44. The Husband thinks touching affectionately = grabbing my backside, so I do get a lot of that. It’s the thought that counts, right?

  45. Sometimes I am so tired, the finger poke sounds like a great idea 🙂

  46. That is awesome! I’m going to poke Pato!

    We hold hands in the car and sometimes out and about, but we don’t do a lot of hugs and kisses. I lean on him a lot – not just like metaphorically, physically lean my head over on his shoulder (that only works when we’re sitting because he’s almost a foot taller than I am).

  47. I like the finger touch thing too, but it might be best if I don’t do it. LOL! I started getting in the habit of entwining my legs through my husband’s every night to help me calm down (and get warm) before I doze off. At first my husband wasn’t to keen about it but now I think he likes it!

  48. Pingback: Feel Good Friday: Flowers, Husbands, Necklaces, Pizza and Directions to an Asian?! « The Girl Next Door Grows Up

  49. I think any loving contact is great. When you throw in humor, it’s the best.

    I love lots of cuddling and usually initiate it.

    Once I was eating cherries and my husband kissed me. I pushed a cherry pit into his mouth. Boy was he surprised. It still makes me laugh. I don’t think he is laughing.

  50. This story made me laugh and think of my relationship with my husband and how he is always doing weird things like that!! 🙂
    When my husband and I were first together I started to tell him he was “my favorite”! He also likes to do things like poke me when I least expect it, it drives me crazy but it drives him more crazy if I poke him first! Men are so funny!!

Leave a Reply

