The Monitor Dialogues


**Feel Good Friday is tomorrow!!!  I have a lot to feel good about, how about you?  Choose a prompt and link up**

 

Obviously, Sarah has a monitor in her room and we have a unit in our room and the living room so we can hear her if she wakes up.


Lately, after we put her to bed, she has been having rather lengthy conversations with her BFF, Panda Bear.


The other day Sarah was upset that Daddy had to go to work.  I was trying to explain to her that Daddy needs to work to make money.


I kept trying to put it in terms that she could understand.


  • We need money to turn on the TV.
  • We need money to put gas in the car.
  • We need money to buy clothes and toys.
  • We need money to put food on the table.


Well, the food on the table comment I made must have stuck in her little noggin because this is what I heard her tell Panda Bear over the monitor:


Sarah:  Daddy works to make money.

Panda Bear:  *crickets*

Sarah:  Money puts food on the table.

Panda Bear:  *crickets*

Sarah:  But Mommy puts food on the table everyday…?

Panda Bear:  *crickets*


I guess the next time she asks me a question I need to be a little more thorough in my reply.


Although, in my defense…. When she asks why it rains, I go into a long and lengthy explanation about cold and warm fronts, but all I get from her is…


*crickets*

 

 



 

39 responses to “The Monitor Dialogues

  1. Well, at least you know she was listening.

  2. We took the monitor out of Hayden’s room nearly 2 years ago. I swear… that thing drove me bonkers! I love that she talk with Panda Bear though… maybe in her head he is responding? Very cute!

    • The funny thing is, is that she totally talks about everything in there!!!! I really get a lot of insight. It is fun when she tells him what fun we had. She told him when I hurt my hip even!

  3. LOL that is too cute and funny!

  4. Haha, too cute! I’ve been explaining the concept of money and working, too 🙂

  5. I would definitely consider having Panda checked for crickets…:-)

  6. That’s too cute! The things that kids pick up on! 🙂

  7. I still have my BFF, “Pandy”, who turned 38 on my birthday last January. I kept her all through college and the first years of our marriage, finally passing her on to M. when she was 3 and got scared during a big thunderstorm.

    Panda Bears/Pandies are good for scary thunderstorms!

    • I still have my favorite doll, Mandy!!!! She is 34!!!! She was my number one forever. Sarah loves her, but Emily thought she was evil!!! She is old and bald because I played beauty shop with her. She is sewn up from being so loved, but Sarah and I still dress her and play with her.

  8. LMAO — somehow you make even the simpliest post hilarious!!!!

    Thanks for the laughs this morning and know I’m reading when I can…summertime has been busy but fun so computer time is limited!

    Kids will say the darnest things and we think they aren’t really getting it but indeed they are!

    No more monitor for us but I must admit, I used to love to spy on them when they are having their little conversations!!!!

    • Oh do not apologize!!! I have so much blog guilt it isn’t even funny! I basically get time to reply to comments and that is it. If Emily is here we swim or play during my normal blog time and so I have to try to fit everything in when I can… and it is not much! Summer is going by too fast. I can’t say no to being with my girls to blog – I would feel awful. However, when I do get some free time, I am all over this computer!!!

  9. Aww, how sweet! It’s so funny and interesting to see how the mind of a child perceives things.

  10. My husband always laughs at my overly-complicated replies to my daughter’s questions. She is definitely in the “why” stage and there’s always another “why” no matter how I answer. lol

    I have an award for you on my blog!
    http://theinquisitivemom.blogspot.com/2010/07/thank-you-thank-you-very-much.html

  11. It’s just so cute that you are privy to these little discussions she has.

  12. I love hearing what Miles has to say to, well, HIMSELF in the monitor! It’s so adorable what they come up with.

  13. So cute! My oldest thinks that Daddy literally makes money- with some sort of money machine.

  14. My grandparents always tell stories about when they were looking after us when we were young.

    One consists of me and my sister deciding we would play being mummy and daddy at work, so we set up overturned boxes as our desks and subsequently pretended to sleep.

    And one of the 3 of us (my sisters and I – can’t remember which!) thought that our dad went to work to collect money out of a drawer in his desk.

    If only the working world were as easy as sleeping and money coming out of drawers!

    Kate x

  15. She got it right… LOL! My son is too old for the monitor, but after reading this it would be nice to hear what he is saying as he plays with his action figures.

  16. How cute! My little guy “talks” himself to sleep at naps and night. I bet he’ll be talking to his toys very soon.

  17. That is to cute. I love listening to their little conversations that they have with themselves.

  18. How funny! I need to start listening to the monitor again. It’s still there but I turned it off.

    Thought of you last night…sound creepy? I was watching TV and there was a preview for a new show…Across the screen flashes…”The Girl Next Door………………………………………Joins the CIA.” WHAT! You didn’t! You are truly a girl after Jack Bauer’s heart, right! 🙂 I don’t know the actual name of the show.

  19. Well obviously she gets her speaking skills from Mr. Panda. Soon she will think that Daddy does to work to give Mommy money and all will be right.

  20. Hi GND-It’s great to have a BFF, isn’t it? It would have been the whole toys thing that got my attention. It is nice for you that she has her priorities straight!

  21. Oh, kid-logic is precious. Love it. From the moment that Kai could talk, I’ve been keeping a journal on the “funny things Kai says”. I write down all the funny / silly things he says, regardless of whether there is or is no logic behind his exclamations.

  22. She’s so cute! I can’t wait to have one 🙂

  23. Love it! It’s so cute to hear what they kids *think* we say, isn’t it?

  24. Hahaha. I love this, especially the “crickets” part.

  25. We have been explaining this to our girls with all the traveling The Husband has had to do. I haven’t heard them explaining it to their toys yet though, so maybe they don’t get it quite yet. 🙂

  26. When explaining things to children, sometimes more is not enough. We leave in the morning for Cancun for a week! This really is a Feel Good Friday for us!

  27. That would make a good kid’s book, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

