Feel Good Friday: Do Good – Feel Good


**Join Me for Feel Good Friday!  Choose your prompt and link up!**

 

I get about 3 emails a week asking me to participate in something, or to host a giveaway, etc, but I always politely decline.


I write.  That is my thing.


However… about a month ago, I received an intriguing email from The Motherhood that piqued my interest.


On Wednesday, July 14th, 77kids by American Eagle is sending out 77 fabulous moms all over the country to spread good cheer and do simple things that will make a difference or make you smile.


Holy Cannoli!!!  Could this be any more perfect for me and Feel Good Friday?!

 

I jumped at the chance to help organize 7 Minnesota Mom Bloggers and get started working toward making people smile!!!!


So today I am super proud to announce that Team Minnesota will be at The Science Museum of Minnesota from 10AM-1PM on July 14th We will be educating families and doing activities centered around:

 

“Doing Good for Our Neighborhood”

 

Other moms across the country are also Doing Good and are organizing fun activities everywhere.  Please go to The Motherhood and see what is happening in your area.

 

 

Would you like to Do Some Good and Make People Smile, too?  Please help me “Do Good” on 77kids Do Good Day:

 

On Wednesday, July 14 I am asking you to do 1 of 2 things:

  1.  Write post about how you do good for others, or for your community, come back here and link up.
    • What kind of random acts of kindness do you do?
    • Have you ever paid it forward?  How?
    • What will you do today that will make someone smile?


     2.    If you can’t write a post, come back here on Wednesday and leave me a comment about something –one thing that you did  that made someone smile.


I am really excited to be a part of this and I am looking forward to meeting some of my Minnesota Blog Friends.  Of course, I will be writing about this adventure and posting pictures and I am even bringing my video camera to capture the fun


Just think, they will get to see me run in person… oh my!


Maybe by now you are wondering what is 77kids?

 

77kids is a new line of clothing stores for kids age 2-12.  They are opening new stores all across the country and celebrating everywhere!!


Here are their details:

77kids Website   http://www.ae.com/77kids/index.jsp

77kids on Facebook  http://www.facebook.com/77kids

77kids on Twitter  http://twitter.com/77kids  Hashtag #77kids


I have been stalking all of their sites and am thrilled to have another option to shop for Emily and Sarah.  They have a lot of cute clothes and great deals going on this month.  Not to mention the fact that they are organizing this event that centers around doing good for others. 


That just makes me smile!!!  How can you not love that?!


They are also opening a store here in Minnesota at the Mall of America on July 31st and I get to be a part of the Grand Opening!!! 


Do you think they will let me videotape my experience? 


So on this Feel Good Friday I am so honored that I was engaged by The Motherhood and 77kids to get the chance to do some good for others.   I am excited to see what is going to happen on this fantabulous day!!!!

 

And yes, I am being compensated for my time and effort, however all opinions are my own. 

 




44 responses to “Feel Good Friday: Do Good – Feel Good

  1. What a wonderful meme. This is my first time joining up. Thanks!

  2. You go, girl! I’ll just observe, quietly.

    • Whatever!!! You do good all of the time. You sent me a card on my birthday as well as everything when Emma died. I see you as doing random acts of kindness even if you don’t. But I surely understand you not wanting to write about it.

  3. Thanks so much for this fun meme.

    ~Mimi

  4. Doing good will surely make you feel good. I’m about to see if the Pittsburgh metro area is getting one of these stores. I’d hope so since AE is headquartered here.

  5. That is SUPER cool! What an honor. I will definitely check all of this out. July 14th is my mom’s birthday. I know I am going to do some good because I’m going to give her a birthday present… But I will certainly try and do more. Much more. Because doing good, feels good. Happy Feel Good Friday!

    • It really does feel good. So this is what has been taking. Up most of my time, but it is worth it!! Do you know that I get to meet Anne from All of the Above?? I am so excited!!!! We have talked on the phone and she is super funny!!

      • LOL!! I think you mean “she is super insane!!”, right??? I am really, really looking forward to meeting my sister in person!!! 🙂

  6. I LOVE this idea!!!! I will be sure to check it out!! And I’m excited to start having the Feel Good Fridays on my blog! What a positive idea! 🙂

  7. You are such a cool mom! Enjoy the experience!

  8. Now I reeeeally wish I lived in Minnesota so I could join you at the Mall of America!

    What an honor for you to be picked! I bet you are over the rainbow and just thrilled to pieces by it all!

    I’ll put on my thinking cap and start figuring out my Happy Post for next week.

    Congratulations again!

  9. Christmas before last, I did a “random acts” thing as a gift for my mom. I blogged it and then printed it all out for my mom – I dedicated the project to her. I did a good deed every day from Thanksgiving to Christmas. Some days, it was challenging. Some days, something big. Some days, something small.

    http://gratitude-n-giving.blogspot.com/

  10. Great idea, and I’m so glad that they chose you. An awesome honor. I’m sure that it will be fun to attend and very informative, but a long road trip for us, lol.

    Have a wonderful time.

  11. Stopping by from Friday-Follow to thank you for joining us this week.

    Have a great day!
    Harriet

  12. Congratulations! What a great opportunity. This sounds like it is perfect for you. Have fun!

  13. I am seeing a vlog, co-hosted by the two of us, featuring a conversation about what it’s like to be two blondes from Minnesota who were separated at birth. Can you picture it?? That would be hysterical! We need to do that. ASAP. 🙂

  14. Oh, how exciting! I heard about this, but theres isn’t a 77kids in my area. 😦

  15. GRRR!!! Mr. Linky is not working!!! GRRR!!!!

  16. Don’t you love it when something ‘fits’ for you. From Feel good to do good – who would have thought it could have gotten any better. Yet you did.
    Bless all our sweet hearts.

  17. Pingback: Tweets that mention Feel Good Friday: Do Good – Feel Good « The Girl Next Door Grows Up -- Topsy.com

  18. Well you reveled your real name just in time then! It will still be confusing with half of the mothers calling you Erika and half calling you Laura and then if your kids are present….

  19. New follower here from Friday Follow! Love your blog design. And I LOVE your feel good friday!

  20. I have been wanting to participate for a long time and finally did this week! I think this might have to be a new habit 🙂

  21. How fun! Happy FGF, and I hope you enjoy the project. Thanks for the do good challenge. Hugs!!

  22. I am so sorry to be tardy to the party. We were scrunching in everything we could possibly do on our last full day here in Chicago yesterday. Big time congratulations!!!! I am so excited for you.

    And I’m sure this line will be as great as American Eagle clothes. I love AE for their wholesomeness and their high quality, I’m sure 77 kids will be the same way.

    They couldn’t have picked a more perfect representative for this wonderful project. You go girl! You’re doing it. I’ll talk to you tomorrow when I’m home sweet home.

  23. I’m following your !
    Please follow back at http://beonefineday.blogspot.com/
    Thanks.
    Nan

  24. That’s such an amazing opportunity!!!! I know you’ll have fun with it, while helping others!!!

  25. Hi, I’m your newest follower! (And a new blogger.) I love reading the stories on your blog! Ya know, I didn’t really know that AE had clothes for kids. Thanks for the tip! And good for you for all you are doing with 77 kids – how exciting!

  26. I love this idea and I sincerely hope I remember to do something to acknowledge this movement!!!

  27. Pingback: It’s Not You, It’s Me… « The Girl Next Door Grows Up

Leave a Reply

