In Real Life


Dear Anne, Mimi and That One Mom,

 

Tomorrow is our big day!!  We get to finally all meet in person for 77kids Do Good Day at the Science Museum of Minnesota.  We have all been following each other for a long time and I am so excited to meet you!!

 

 And I am a little nauseous.

 

There is something so comforting about being on this side of the computer.  I can write with freedom and sarcasm, sweetness and wit, but what will I seem like to you in real life?

 

Tomorrow you will see that…

  • Tyler is still shaving his head. 
  • If you look at Sarah’s hair, just cock your head and it will look straight. 
  • I may run for you… or I may not.
  • You will finally get to meet my sweet Emily and Sarah who will most likely be wearing her Crocs.

 

But what you DON’T know is…

  • I have to go potty about 100 times in an hour.  Just a little something that never went away after having kids.
  • I can totally get into talking like Frances McDormand from the movie Fargo, dontcha know.
  • When Tyler is around I am almost always rolling my eyes… with love, of course.
  • And I tend to mutter under my breath… but it’s all good stuff.
  • Do NOT let me lose Bob!!!!!!!!!!!!  Who is Bob?  You will all just have to wait to find out.  And shhh  – it is a secret, so don’t tell.
  • Sarah is deathly shy around strangers so just ignore her and she will become your BFF.
  • My kids can be LOUD, but I can be LOUDER!

 

I will be armed with my camera and video camera.  I hear Anne wants to do a vlog!!  Only time will tell what this amazing day will bring!!

–          Erika

 

Which blogger would you most like to meet IRL?

If you met me IRL, what is the one thing you would want to “see for yourself”? 

 

I was asked and compensatedby 77kids and The Motherhood to participate in 77kids Do Good Day.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

 

35 responses to “In Real Life

  1. Oh my!! I hope you have a ton o’ fun tomorrow channeling Frances McDormand, snapping pictures and meeting up with your buddies! Can’t wait to hear (and possibly see?) what all transpires! : )

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention In Real Life « The Girl Next Door Grows Up -- Topsy.com

  3. I want to meet you! Seriously. It would be awesome. And I am jealous that y’all are getting to get together – although in reality I would be really nervous of the meeting!

    Who the heck is BOB?

    Hayden can be SUPER shy at first too and then he comes out and is all crazy and wild.

    I pee a lot too! Drives me bananas.

    I hope y’all have a great day tomorrow and do some good!

  4. LOL! I do want to do a vlog because, as we MN chics say, it would be a hoot! 🙂 I seriously can’t wait to meet you. I think I might have to post a response to this on my blog today, though. It needs some responding to. heehee

  5. My niece is the same way…she won’t talk to you if she doesn’t know you. You may ask her a question – anything – how old she is, which she obviously knows the answer to – and she will just look at you! However, once she thaws, she is your best friend.

    I think it’d be cool to meet you & Melissa, of course…because I enjoy reading your blogs so much! But I would have the same fear…you are who you are here…but will people still see you as the same person in real life?

    Have fun!

  6. That’s so exciting! I love meeting up with fellow bloggers. I know you guys will have a great time.
    There are so many bloggers out there that I would love to hang out with that I don’t even know where to start!

  7. You are going to have so much fun!!!!

    I couldn’t possibly choose just one blogger I’d want to meet! I’ve met tons of them already though so I feel lucky!

  8. Geez I’d like to meet everyone I follow or who follows me in real life of course and I think you’ll find fast friends. You don’t often follow a person you couldn’t friend in real life.

    • So true!! Of the 3 bloggers I followed regularly, it was like meeting an old friend even though I had never seen them before. It was truly a neat experience.

  9. I’d love to meet YOU in real life someday! Maybe we’ll have to find an excuse for that at some point. 🙂 Shy kids (and cats!) like me. I’m not an over-exuberant greeter and something about that appeals to them – ha!

    • You are sweet!!! I wish you were there today. I got co plummets on my necklace from people not bloggers!!!! I gave them your info!! It was so crazy busy and cool. They want to work with us in the future!!

  10. Hahahaha, I can’t wait to find out who Bob it.

    I’m totally excited to meet all of you girls! Just a heads up, I haven’t had my hair cut or colored in months. Just pretend the grey is blond… Annnnd, my kids are nuts. You’ve been warned.

  11. I would call you a number of names, including Laura and Erica, and test to see if you respond.

    Have fun!

  12. I’d have to think about who I’d like to meet in real life. No one pops to mind immediately. I think it’s because I’m terribly anti-social!

  13. Who would I want to meet? In the words of my daughter… Everyone!! I would love love love to go to an event like BlogHer just to sit and see who was there. The list of who I want to meet is long!! I’ve met some of my blogging buddies that are local to Indy and that’s been great. I love meeting people IRL that I’ve met online!

    Have a blast!!

  14. Nice, real nice. I was all excited about meeting everyone. Now all I want to do is puke. I wasn’t thinking about all these things. I’ll have to be on my “good” behavior (or pretend I have one). Better warn my boys about arm farts and real ones…keep ’em to themselves! Oh geez… wonder if I could rent someone elses kids for the day! LOL

    ~Mimi who will c u tomorrow whether I’m ready or not!

  15. Oh, I would just like to have a big party with everyone!

    Have so much fun and enjoy the day. You deserve it!

  16. Lately I have pictured a big party with all my bloggy friends in attendance-no husbands, no kids, just us women having a ball!

  17. Most every blogger I’m involved with, lives so far away that I can’t imagine ever meeting them IRL. The one that I did get a chance to meet, is awesome.

    Meeting up IRL, versus on the computer, would definitely be a challenge for me. I feel much more secure and comfortable remaining anonymous.

  18. Hi GND-I imagine they are going to love you. You can glean a lot from someone from their writing. Of course, their relatives are another story:-) Kidding. If I were going to meet someone in real life, I think Mrs. P from Quilting in my Pajamas and I have a lot in common. She’s in Australia, though, so that will probably not happen anytime soon. But here in the states there are so many, of which you are one, and for so many different reasons. Some have kids my age, some are just so incredibly funny, some have very different lives than mine, and some are so nice and always supportive. If I were going to meet you IRL, the first thing I would be looking for is to see if IRL you would remind me as much of my niece, Jenny, as you did in your vlog a while back. Have fun!

  19. I want to meet so many, and if I met you, I’d want to see your license to verify your name. 😉

  20. I have every confidence in the world that y’all will have a great time. I’m insanely jealous because you are actually one of the bloggers I would love to meet, in addition to The Empress, Kelly from The Miller Mix, Jen from Three Pugs & a Baby, and a few more.

    I don’t know that there is any one thing I want to see for myself regarding you. I think I would just be very pleased to be in your company.

    • Wow! That was really sweet!

      We had a super day. It went by in a flash. We were so busy with so many people we barely even got time to talk. A great thing for the event, though.

  21. It sounds like such a wonderful thing you all are doing! I hope you did a vlog!

    If I met you in real life….hmm… Ok, I’m not going to lie…I really just want to meet your Mom…oh, and Jim, because I’m not sure he’s actually real!

    • It was so beyond wonderful our event today but we were so flooded with people I just got a little video, no talking :-(. A vlog will be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

