77kids Do Good Day – Emily the Science Kid

 

 

Today, all across the country, is 77kids Do Good Day!!  A fantastic event created by American Eagle’s 77kids!!


Will you do 1 Random Act of Kindness today?  Maybe you could…

  • Cut some flowers from your garden and set on a neighbor’s doorstep.
  • Bring in someone else’s garbage cans!
  • Say Please and Thank You.
  • Pick up 1 piece of litter.
  • Hold a door open for someone.
  • Color pictures with your kids and give them to neighbors.

Write about it and link up with me below!


Tyler, me, Emily and Sarah, together with 7 other mom bloggers and their families will be “Doing Good for the Neighborhood” at the Science Museum of Minnesota from 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM.


But what does that mean?


We will be handing out lots of Do Good Kits to get people into the spirit of Paying it Forward, plus coupons, stickers, note cards to say something nice to someone and lots more.


In addition to that, we will have activities centered on Science for kids and their families to do together.


And this is where it gets exciting for me and my family:


Emily… my Emily, loves science.  Every year since she started school she wanted to enter her school’s science fair, but she had to wait until the 3rd grade.


Last year she pulled actual metal out of 5 different cereals.  Yes, it can be done.


She advanced to Regionals.


YAY!


This year she compared and grew Regular Marigold Seeds versus Recycled Marigold Flower Seed Paper and she, again, advanced to Regionals!!


So, not only will Emily’s science project be at The Science Museum to inspire other kids, we are having all kids color on recycled flower seed paper.


Kids can color something pretty on the paper and then rip it up and plant it in their yard and watch the flowers grow!


Isn’t that the coolest?


We are also handing out regular wildflower seeds so that kids can do their own experiment at home.


The Science Museum couldn’t be a more perfect location for us to Do Good!!!  Want to meet me in person?



Stop by tomorrow when I will share what happens!


And remember, you can Do Good with Random Acts of Kindness every day.  It really makes a world of difference for everyone.


I was asked and compensated by 77kids and The Motherhood to participate in 77kids Do Good Day.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

20 responses to “77kids Do Good Day – Emily the Science Kid

  1. Yea, Laurika and family! Kudos to Emily!

  2. Well done to Emily!

  3. I love everything about this idea! You must be so proud of her!

    • Thank you. It was such an amazing day. Emily was a doll and I was so proud of her!!! The kids and families went nuts over our stuff too and doing their own experiments.

  4. You totally rock and if I lived anywhere near Minnesota then I would totally stop by! I’ll do some Feel Good things today… I try and do good things. I like to let people “in” when I am driving – that always makes me feel good when I let them in. It feels good to be nice! Have a great day! Tell Anne I said, “hi.”

  5. Your ideas are incredible! I love what you’ve come up with!

    And go Emily! Just so you know, there is a huge push in this country to get more girls involved in science. It tends to be a subject that most girls veer away from. One of my best friend’s daughters loves science too and just totally excelled at it during her school years. Come college time, she was showered in scholarships because of her science prowess. Keep up the good work, Emily! The world needs more science savvy girls.

    Have a great time today. I can’t wait to hear all about it. And thanks as always, Erika for bringing light into our lives. Congratulations on your endeavor. May it be the first of many.

  6. Metal out of cereal! HOW?? Child prodigy!
    And I LOVE the seed paper idea. How cool!

    • Blend up a box of total cereal. Mix it with water so it is the consistency of toothpaste. Then take a stick or skewer and attach magnets to the stick. Stir slowly through mixture for 5 minutes and you will pull out the iron!!!!!! It is more clear to see after it dries.

      Thank you!!

  7. That is the coolest! And after mulling over yesterdays questions – I would want to see you run if we ever met in person!

    Yes, I’m always this slow mentally.

  8. This is so awesome! I love how Emily is inspired – I HAVE to get Boo Boo to the Science Museum. She loves to garden and figure stuff out.

    Good Luck today! Hope you guys had a blast!

  9. Yay for Emily making regionals!! Jellybean really likes science too but lacks the perseverance to actually put a project together. It sounds like you have a fun day planned tomorrow. I think we can put our heads together and find something extra nice to do tomorrow too. THanks for the inspiration!

  10. Congratulations Emily. Hooryay.

    I arranged today to have someone harvest my garden crops for the food bank while I am away for 2 months. yay

  11. Wow, your Emily is totally Sid the Science Kid! That’s awesome! I was never into science…until I got to college, and realized I had to take several sceincy courses in order to become a nurse. Who knew?

    Oh, and I did a random act of kindness…I surprised my husband with a six pack of beer, but then I told him he couldn’t drink it because I was mad at him. Oh well. Hope your day was good!

  12. That is so great that you are encouraging everyone, especially kids, to do kind things! I think sometimes we all forget that even something simple and small can make a difference in someone else’s day (and maybe life!).

Leave a Reply

