Set Your DVR!!

 

Hello!!!!!!!  I am back and it feels so good!!! 


You last found me writing my submission to be interviewed for a Mom Blog TV Show.  Think about it… me on a TV show.  In front of millions of people.


  • Me. 
  • Miss Shy-in-Person.
  • Miss Privacy Matters.
  • Miss I-Just-Told-You-My-First-Name-a-Week-Ago.


Kind of an oxymoron isn’t it?


I agree. 


So Tyler and I were just checking emails before bed the other night and I saw an article about the casting call.  OF COURSE I would watch it!!!  Wouldn’t you?  These are our people, so to speak.


Then Tyler is all like, “You should submit an entry, babe.”

And I am all like, “Are you out of your mind?”

And Tyler is all like, “What could it hurt?”

And I am all like, “Ummm….our entire life?”


This went on for awhile.  I will spare you the details.

 

So, in the end, despite my reluctance I decided to not be such a “stick-in-the-mud” and try out for it.  I am sure millions of women everywhere are doing it and chances are they won’t pick me…


But if they did pick me…

 

What would the format be?  Would they film me typing away on my computer?  Riveting stuff I tell ya.


I blog exactly like I am in real life, but what if they edit me all to hell?  Could I race to the computer and blog about what you didn’t see?


I am pretty fanatical about my time.  Do you think we could film only during Sarah’s naptime?


I like to keep my nails nice and painted.  I paint them once every 2 weeks, at night before bed, but can you just see me on the cover of US Weekly?  “Mommy Blogger Nail Scandal – She paints her nails instead of playing Play-Doh!”

 

Do you SEE WHY this makes me nervous?

 

Not to mention that I am not all that interesting.  I don’t have a fascinating sob story to tell the world.   I am just me.  Quirky.  Sometimes Amusing.  “The Glass is Always Half Full” kind of a person. 


My kind of people don’t get high ratings so I guess I can relax a little.  Now I feel better.


However, in case I do get picked, I will let you know when to set your DVR!


Would you watch a reality show about bloggers?

 

Would you want to be on TV?

 

51 responses to “Set Your DVR!!

  1. I would never do it, never, never, never. But I would watch!

  2. I would LOVE to be on tv and I would watch it – although if I didn’t enjoy watching it then I would stop. But if you were on it I would never stop. People’s lives don’t have to be crazy dramatic to be interesting. Sometimes it’s just the mundane things that can make for good tv (because they are relatable).

    Good luck! And I don’t think it would ruin your lives – it would be super cool!!!

    • Thanks! It would be interesting if it were somebody we all knew. However, if it was someone else and they were just making dinner and replying to a comment it might be a yawnfest!

      You know what? I just had an interesting idea… maybe we will make our own video?

  3. If you were on it, I would definitely watch it! I’m excited to see where this whole blog reality show goes, it sounds interesting…but, at the same time it could also be really stupid. Just being honest:)

    I thought about sending in an audition, but I figured they didn’t want people on tv who drop F-bombs and say douche bag. I would definitely get voted off the island:)

    • I am like you. We would need to be on HBO, baby!!!!

      I agree that really when you think about it, the Reality Shows do not turn out well. The people never end up looking good or they just pick nightmares because it makes for great ratings.

  4. No and No.

    I’m not watching reality TV anymore in the hopes that lots of people will join me and they’ll start making REAL TV shows again. You remember interesting TV that was funny and scripted escapism? Friends, Seinfeld, The Wonder Years?

    I miss those days. I’m American Idol-ed out.

    • Ahhhhhh Seinfeld!!! Do you watch Curb Your Enthusiasm?? It is on HBO or you can rent it – so good! We watch the AMazing Race and The Apprentice and Project Runway, but that is it. We don’t want any of the Housewives and briefly watched Jon and Kate just to see what all of the hoopla was all about. I wouldn’t want camera crews here – there is no way any of us would act normal, but it would be fun to do an interview on blogging.

      I agree about more, better TV shows. I have never watched American Idol so I don’t know what that is all about. Aren’t they all popularity contests anyway?

      Blogging is so fiercely popular I can see why they would do a show about it and it will be fun to see what transpires. I just don’t know how they can keep it from turning negative. People love drama so I hope they don’t pick idiots!

  5. I am insane about my privacy… I don’t feel like I can be completely candid if I’m not. Can you imagine going to a PTO meeting knowing that the other Moms are looking at you and whispering about your post where you confessed your insecurities at mothering? Or in my case, a bride storming in demanding to know if she was the subject of my Bridezilla post? (Look in the mirror right now, babe!) But I admire all you women who are not afraid to wear their opinions, weaknesses, and failures on their sleeves for the whole world to see.

    • Well… and this is going to sound weird, but I really “try” not to care what others think. I am human and I think most of us are human. Anyone who thinks they are the “perfect” mother or wife is nuts. And I am sure those people would slam me to the wall or not cooking organic or for giving out a cookie at 10AM once in a while. But is is what happens more than not and I think I would be relatable which is why blogging is probably so popular.

      However, I would care a tiny bit and I think that people who are on TV get the shaft because there is so much more that we don’t see, the good and the bad. it is all about editing, I bet!

      Personally, I really wouldn’t want a TV crew here. I am irked if repairmen are here. But it would be fun to do an interview about blogging.

  6. I couldn’t do it. But I think it will be absolutely great if YOU get to do it!!! When will you find out??

    • They already chose people to interview at BlogHer and the rest of us just have to wait and see… Still, I am glad I submitted something. I tried. I always let fear stop me.

  7. There’s a part of me that has always thought…I wouldn’t mind having a camera crew following me around! I get lonely at times and it’d be nice to have someone to talk to…about me and my life. But then I see the example of how this went bad (Jon & Kate) and think…well, maybe not.

    But secretly, I’d probably do it…and I may or may not already have my own reality show pitch ready…

    And I’m trying to wrap my mind around this bloggy reality show…can’t figure out how that would work. I guess maybe they are trying to get the “real” lives behind the “blog” lives???

    But I would totally DVR & watch it if you were on! 🙂

    • Thanks! I will be glued to the tube too to watch anyone!! It just is so sad because if they pick trainwrecky type people, that will give us a bad wrap! I don’t know how they will do it, but it sure will be interesting to watch and blog about!

  8. What will the show be about? Something like Jon and Kate + 8? You have to have an interesting hook and blogging in and by itself does not do it for me. They will need an interesting hook – a dysfunctional home front, 19 kids to raise (the +8 thing is now old you see), mom and dad fighting in the streets….

    This is a no-brainer to me. I’m definitely not the kind of person who likes a camera crew watching my every move from the moment I get out of bed until I go sleep. I have no desire to be on TV.

    • I don’t even like repairmen here for an hour! OH and I hate Jon and Kate too. They haven’t decided on a format, but I would totally want to do it if it was an interview type deal. That would be neat.

      I still want to know how anyone can act normal on TV. How? I would be so nervous!

  9. Yes I would want to be one TV, but I would try and be careful of how they edited me. That probably wouldn’t get me very far. I would set my DVR for you though. Just cuz I kinda know you.

  10. I love reality tv. My husband makes fun of me because I am totally into the Real Housewives. Who of course are not real housewives at all, I know that…I just like to watch all the drama!!

    Best of luck!

    • We love the Amazing Race and Apprentice. And Project Runway.

      We got hooked into the Housewives for a few episodes one night while we were bored and it does totally suck you in! They are crazy!!!

  11. Would I love to make gobs of money without leaving my home? Yes.
    Would I want my husband to run away from home with our children and live in the woods wearing animal skins? No. That is what would happen if I brought camera crews into our home.

    My husband is in production. He already brings his work home with him:)

    We don’t have T.V. but I would find a way to watch you, Laura/Ericka.

    • HA!

      I hate having a plumber here for an hour so I wouldn’t want a film crew in here either. How can anyone act normal? I would do an interview though, that would be fun and loads of moolah would be nice too 🙂

  12. Or, more importantly, what color would Tina do her bangs for filming?

  13. I still can’t call you Ericka. You’re such a Laura, to me!

    It would depend on the formatting of the show, as to whether or not I’d watch it. I just don’t know how you’d document the lives of bloggers, but I suppose that’s why I don’t work in the TV industry. But if you’re on… I’d watch!!!!

    But, no, I’d never want to be on TV. I’m too shy.

    Stop laughing. I’m serious.

    STOP.

    I hate being the center of attention.

    Crap, you’re laughing harder aren’t you?

    Fine. But I’m serious. Plus, I wouldn’t want people making snap judgments about me. And I feel like reality TV changes everyone, and not usually for the better.

    That being said, I hope you make it! You seem more sane than any of those other reality TV women, so I doubt you’d change at all 🙂

    • You are so funny! I WAS laughing super hard. I think you would be great especially if they put a camera in your car 🙂 Right?!

      XOXO Laura, Erika, Girl, oh and Laurika is becoming popular!

  14. I would totally watch it…are you kidding me? What a cool show!!!

  15. Whoa…hold the phone!! I just saw on your sidebar that your name is Ericka!! WTF? You look more like a Laura to me…mind if I still call you Laura? I don’t know if I could get used to calling you Ericka. I hate change.

    • I know! Hi! I wrote about it a few weeks ago before I took my blogcation which was sorely needed.

      You can call me anything you want. It is ok.

      I am sorry I haven’t been around. Summer is busy enough and I needed a blog break.

    • I think she looks like a Laura, too! I’m still coming to terms with this whole Erika thing. 😉

  16. I would never want to be on tv. Sometimes when I watch I thinnk “gee, wouldn’t that be cool”. The reality of it is that I don’t think I could do it.

    If you get picked though I would definitely watch!

  17. First off, welcome back!!

    I would love to watch YOU! You’ll be hilarious! And funniness is interesting enough. You don’t need a sob story.

    I, personally, wouldn’t want to be on TV. I’ve been on TV before, in interviews, and really wouldn’t jump at the chance to do it again. I’m not a big talker. I’m better at writing.

    But my most important question of the day is…how on earth do you manage to keep your nails neat and nice by painting them once every two weeks???!!! When I do my nails, I have to do them every 3-4 days because they chip and peel like crazy. Sorry for the manicure advice question, but I’m impressed!

    • Ha!! I use a Sally Hansen basecoat for strengthening and then the topcoat is called Out the Door and they both ROCK! I have been painting my nails since I was 20 and these 2 work wonders!

      However, since we have been swimming this summer, the water is a nightmare and I have broken 2 nails 😦 Such a bummer. I usally have 1 broken every 3 months so I think I need to cut them and start over.

      And you know what? That was an important question 🙂

      • Thanks! I just made note of those so I can look for them next time I’m up in the US.

        My nails are paper thin and they also PEEL, so without some kind of nail polish, they just peel and peel and then peel right off (the tips, not the nail bed part…sorry if that gave you a horrifying mental image).

        I’m still impressed that your polish lasts two weeks!

  18. Wait, is it an interview thing, or a reality show kind of thing where they’re going to invade your house for a few days?

  19. You know I am going to be all OVER that thing and I hardly watch any TV. I will be riveted to the set! I can only hope some of you fabulous blogging buddies of mine get picked. Then, I could jump and down and be all, “I KNOW HER!!!!”

    Glad to have you back, girl. We’ll talk. Waiting to hear about the you know what.

  20. Totally watch it! But I would be horrified to be on it. I am just not that intersting.

  21. I thought about it for a hot second, but decided it wasn’t for me. I do think you don’t give yourself enough credit. I find you very enjoyable in person and think you would make an excellent tv star.

  22. I was so close to submitting, but realized I’m boring and unlike you, my husband would not want to be the subject of a TV show. I am curious about how it will go down, and even though I’m not into reality TV, I would sneak a peak…

  23. It sounds like it has the potential to be very cool.
    Good luck!

  24. I would watch it out of curiosity. No, I would never want to be on TV. I am too shy…I like being in the background.

  25. I would so do it. Hell I’m out of work and it would be an adventure, but alas you need to submit to win and I am not sure i’d actually get around to that.

  26. I think you are absolutely absurd. Of course you have an interesting life. Just let them go over and film your interactions with your parents. Haha. I’m glad to see you are back up and running, and I would TOTALLY watch your show!

Leave a Reply

